Grandma Johnson's Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2014
This was very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pago Pago, Eastern, American Samoa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2014
I used chocolate chips instead of raisins and bread flower instead of all purpose- turned out great! They were very moist. I did have to bake them for a full 15 minutes to brown the bottoms. Update: tried making these without chocolate chips, but instead, kneeded in a mixture of 1 cup unpacked brown sugar and 4t cinnamon before cutting with a cookie cutter. I baked them for 18 minutes and they turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
Great recipe! I used vanilla Greek yogurt (Great Value brand), since I was out of sour cream. I did have to bake them a few minutes longer, but they turned out delicious & moist! They were absolutely superb fresh out of the oven (kids couldn't keep their hands off!!), and still very tasty the next day. I separated into 3 rounds, and pressed chocolate chips into the top of one, butterscotch chips into another, and fresh cranberries into another. All 3 were VERY good, but chocolate chip seemed to be the favorite. :) Tonight I added about 1 tsp. coconut extract to about half of the dough, and pressed coconut flakes into the top before baking. That is also REALLY good, but next time I'll add more extract for a stronger flavor. Definitely recommend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2014
Wow! I've been addicted to All Recipes lately but this is the first review I just had to make. I halved the recipe because I was a little nervous. Then I got to the one egg part. Well, it was either do or don't. I did. The dough was a little wet and sticky but at that point I just had to chance it. I divided it in half and added orange zest and Craisins to one and dark chocolate chips and coconut to the other. Cut them into cute little wedges and in the oven they went. AMAZING!!! Now I'm afraid to make the original:) They were so moist and dense. I nearly burnt my mouth eating them just seconds out of the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2014
Made just the basic recipe and they were wonderful. Next time I will use some of the creative suggestions here to make a few different flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by desertflower

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
There wasn't nearly enough liquid so I added half and half. The dough was still hard to work with and when they were baking, all of the butter separated out. My family enjoyed the taste of the end result.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2014
I love this recipe! I have made cinnamon-sugar "pinwheel" scones by rolling it out, spreading cinnamon sugar all over it, rolling it up and slicing them into little pinwheels. I've also added 1/2 cup cocoa powder and a tbs of sugar to make chocolate scones. They're ALWAYS a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
Hands-down, the best scone recipe I've ever used. Or even eaten. Not dry at all, the sour cream makes such a difference. They're addicting though, so I don't make them often. I especially like to use dark chocolate chips (chunks) instead of the raisins and drizzle the top with a tiny bit of coarse sea salt for the contrast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
Best scones I've ever had. I added blueberries!! Yummmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yilian Valeri

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
Thank you thank you!! I made these for my daughter's birthday tea party and everyone loved them, kids and adults alike. I will certainly make these again. I did nothing to the recipe and they were perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 1,804) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Grandma Johnson’s Scones

See how to make top-rated and time-tested scones.

How to Make Scones

Make classic Scottish scones from scratch. It's simple!

Simple Scones

These easy scones make breakfast or afternoon teas something special.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States