Grandma Johnson's Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
My daughter made this recipe. This was the first time I've had scones I liked !!! Most are either too much like cake or too much like a cookie. She made the basic dough then added chocolate chips to some and lemon poppy seed to the rest. This dough freezes very well. This one is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Prairie Du Sac, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2013
Delicious! Have made the recipe several times and decided next time I'll make "mini scones". That way I won't feel as guilty eating two. The addition of a teaspoon of orange zest and Craisins in the batter and orange zest and fresh orange juice to a confectioner's sugar glaze, drizzled over the scones right from the oven, is my favorite. I'll be trying others suggestions, too. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Monclova, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lacey, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
Used blueberries and had to bake longer than instructions. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GYPSYLADY3200
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
Best scones I have ever had the supreme pleasure of eating! I have made this recipe twice now: first time I did cranberry/orange with cinnamon and the second time I made lemon/poppy seed. Both topped with a confection sugar icing and both excellent. My husband begs me to make these for him on a regular basis now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GYPSYLADY3200

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Plant City, Florida, USA
Living In: Gallatin, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2013
These are pretty tasty! Followed the recipe mostly. Subbed plain nonfat Greek yogurt for the sour cream, and added 2 tsp cinnamon to the dry mix, and 1 tsp vanilla. Divided the finished "batter" in half, adding 1/2 cup walnuts (finely chopped) and 1/2 c chocolate chips to one half, and 2 tsp lemon extract and 1 c frozen blueberries to the other half. Each half made about seven nicely sized scones; I just rolled the dough into balls and pushed them flat with my hand. Baked at 350 for 23 minutes. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2013
Rolled into balls and flattened. Made about 16 (instead of 12). Took longer to cook, 18 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2013
Great recipe! I didnt have sour cream on hand so I substituted Vanilla Greek Yogurt.They were delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ahakes
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2013
Love this! This recipe will definitely be part of my regular baking for years to come! Didn't have cream of tartar so I just put in one extra tsp baking powder. I wanted savory scones so i cut the sugar in half and doubled the salt. Also added a heaping cup of shredded cheddar. Rolled it out and used heart shaped cookie cutter. Perfectly baked at 350 for 13 mins! So good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2013
Very easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2013
We use chocolate chips instead of raisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 1,788) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma Johnson’s Scones

See how to make top-rated and time-tested scones.

How to Make Scones

Make classic Scottish scones from scratch. It's simple!

Simple Scones

These easy scones make breakfast or afternoon teas something special.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States