Grandma Johnson's Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2013
My first attempt with scones was so-so. I decided to try this recipe and I'm so glad. They were wonderful. I made Orange Choc chip since they were for a kid's book club. Added fresh orange zest and about tblsp juice to sour cream mixture. Then topped with an orange glaze. Mixed my egg with the sour cream just before adding to the dry ingredients. Picked up some great tips by watching the Chef John Scone video. Add your fruit/Choc chips to the flour mixture to keep from over working the dough, Split my dough into two rounds. Loved the tip to use saran wrap to knead and form dough. Saves on the mess
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
LOVE this recipe! Everyone always loves these. Trick to getting them perfect is to not over mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2013
Excellent recipe. My scones came out to be lighter in texture than most scones I have had but they were wonderful. I halved the recipe and made mini scones (same size as the Starbucks vanilla bean scones). Baking time was 12-14 min for me. I added a 1/2tsp of vanilla and cut back a bit on the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2013
These were fantastic!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
Found them to be a slightly dry, but we still ate them all. I made them exactly as the recipe states.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2013
First time making scones and they were fabulous! I followed other reviewers advice and froze some. I would suggest making smaller quantities as they are not nearly as good the second day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
Just made these as lemon poppyseed. Delicious! I ran out of eggs so used 1T flax seed meal mixed with 3T warm water (let it sit for 10 minutes), and they still came out great! The texture is wonderful. Slightly cake-like, but slightly crumbly. A wonderful scone. Mmmm... this made a lot so I baked half and froze half (raw) to make whenever I want later. I usually make a different recipe that doesn't require sour cream, and now I have two favorites depending on what I have in the fridge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
These scones are amazing. They have the perfect amount of sweetness, and they melt in your mouth. I added some white chocolate chips to change it up, and they were delicious. I also use greek yogurt instead of sour cream, and in my opinion, it's even better. This is the second time I make this recipe but definitely not the last because these scones are completely addictive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2013
Have been using this for several years! Wonderful basic scone recipe which can be customized. My family likes it with chocolate chips, cherries, blueberries, currants.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy Wycoff

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Monroe, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kaylin Lydia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ridgefield, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 1,804) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Grandma Johnson’s Scones

See how to make top-rated and time-tested scones.

How to Make Scones

Make classic Scottish scones from scratch. It's simple!

Simple Scones

These easy scones make breakfast or afternoon teas something special.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States