Grandma Johnson's Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2013
Easy to make and yummy. Would roll thicker than recipe suggests next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2013
Made these as a test run for my youngest's Tea Party Birthday. Followed the directions exactly but divided the dough and made 1/2 plain and 1/2 with dried blueberries. They were delicious! My daughter loved them too (she's almost 4) and gave her seal of approval. I plan to make these into 2.5 inch rounds with a biscuit cutter in blueberry and chocolate chip for her friends to have with their 'tea' at her party. Thanks for a new favorite go to recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DRUCIFER

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corning, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2013
This is a great recipe. The only changes were I cooked them for a few minutes longer and drizzled confectioners sugar mixed with a small amount of water and vanilla. Have made this for many occasions and it is always a hit. Thanks for the recipe. DG
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2013
Fantastic scone recipe. I followed as written using cold butter and cutting it in. Scones came out moist, but flakey. Husband gave them an A+! I did add 1 teaspoon of almond extract to the eggs before blending. This is a great base recipe and I look forward to trying different flavor combos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2013
I can't rate these fairly as is, because I didn't follow the recipe exactly. When I read from some reviewers that the texture was more like a "muffin", I didn't want that. I wanted more of a crisp, crumbly texture. One reviewer recommended omitting the egg so as not to get that muffin kind of texture, so that's what I did differently. Instead of the egg, I added 1/4 cup of milk in its place. The dough was indeed very crumbly and hard to work with, but the end result was good, though still not as "dry" as I would have liked. My husband LOVES them. I added fresh blueberries instead of the raisins and baked them for 25 minutes (they are big). I also gave them a quick brushing of egg white and a dusting of some course grained sugar on the top before baking, and that added a nice touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2013
I've made these several times...actually have some in the oven now!!! these are SOOOOOOO good and it's the only scone recipe I use!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2013
Very fast and easy cooking. Tastes great! Recommended recipe for baking beginners.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2013
This was delicious. I used cold butter that I cut up into small cubes and mixed with a pastry blender. Then I used my favorite utensil on a lightly floured counter (my hands) to get to the right consistency. I also added a zest of one orange and a few handfuls of dried cranberries. Yummy cranberry orange scones that my friends and family loved!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StacyRenae

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Richland, Washington, USA
Living In: West Richland, Washington, USA
Reviewed: May 19, 2013
Wow. Just wow. I became more popular after I made this recipe! I didn't have any eggs, unfortunately, so I added milk until it reached the desired consistency. 3/4 cup sugar is plenty! It was really good! Moist... delicious... mmm...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Elizabeth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jonesborough, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: May 15, 2013
We make at least 10 dozen a week at Sweet Arts Bakery, Avon NY. One of my best sellers! The beauty is that we make them on Monday and freeze them, then take the out and bake as needed. I've even taught them our baking classes. Thank you, Grandma Johnson!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ruth Ann Lewis

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 1,786) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma Johnson’s Scones

See how to make top-rated and time-tested scones.

How to Make Scones

Make classic Scottish scones from scratch. It's simple!

Simple Scones

These easy scones make breakfast or afternoon teas something special.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States