Grandma Johnson's Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2014
Right now I can't rate with the stars it's not working, but for sure its a 5 star recipe. Hope they fix this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2014
I tried this recipe when it first appeared on this site and I have had the greatest compliments. I made adjustments to the recipe using some of the reviews and it never failed. My son who was quite ill when I started making these could eat 4-5 scones a day when nothing else appealed to him. My favorite was the lemon juice and rind additions and only 1/2 cup sugar because I drizzled lemon juice and powdered sugar on the tops. Thank you for the best scones I have EVER tasted!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by farah
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2014
Fantastic, easy to make recipe! I've used it about 10 times and used different things each time including: chocolate chips, white chocolate chips/apricot, sliced almonds/cranberries, sliced almonds/blueberries.. So many options! They're always gone in about a day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2014
First time in my life that I made scones!! Received compliments :). Followed Lucia de Wagner's tip on preparation and they turned out just perfect. These scones paired with some good coffee really made my day! This recipe is worth repeating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cupcake21

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monterey Park, California, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2014
Because I didn't want to overwork the dough I followed Lucia de Wagner's steps and came out with an amazingly WONDERFUL scone. I baked three and froze the rest for future enjoyment. Thank you for an amazing recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2014
These scones were a big hit - made a couple of flavors and froze some. Totally recommend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2014
I made this according to recipe except that I only had 2/3 c of sour cream so I used 1/3 c of vanilla yogurt to make up the difference. I was surprised to find that it worked great. I used white chocolate pieces in lieu of raisins or berries and iced with a lemon juice and powdered sugar glaze. Delish! This will be my go to scone recipe. Great with mock Devonshire cream too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2014
Added rind rind of one medium orange with dry ingredients and soaked one cup of craisins in the juice. Used 1/2 brown sugar and 1/2 white sugar. Omitted the raisins. Brushed top of each scone with melted butter and sprinkled cinnamon ,sugar and brown sugar combined onto each scone. Baked for 30-40 min. Until tops golden.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2014
I have never made scones before today, I immediately had to make this recipe. I had 1/2 of a large container of sour cream in the fridge I needed to use. They came out great! The only thing I did different was smash sliced almonds on the top before I cooked them, I pushed them down into the scones. I also cooked them about 8 minutes longer than the recipe called for to make them toasty brown and crunchy. This is the way I will use the extra sour cream from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2014
I just made the scones and they are delicious, however, the round that I pressed the dough into created quite large wedges. Next time I will make 2 rounds for smaller wedges, had to cut the scone wedges after baking and bake a little longer as the middles were not done. I added craisins and white chocolate chips. PJ, Pittsburgh PA
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 1,819) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Grandma Johnson’s Scones

See how to make top-rated and time-tested scones.

How to Make Scones

Make classic Scottish scones from scratch. It's simple!

Simple Scones

These easy scones make breakfast or afternoon teas something special.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States