Grandma Johnson's Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2013
It is just perfect. This recipe required more butter than many other recipes. Obviously more butter = more love because it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yella
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2013
flavor of these was good, but my scones turned out a bit too dry for my liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zoya

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2013
I've made many scones over the years, and this is by far the best recipe. Note: make sure you use real butter, handle the dough as lightly as possible and don't overbake. Also, I "shred" the butter with a grater so that it's easier to work into the flour mixture. Makes light, fabulous scones every time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2013
Made recipe as is. It was bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2013
These were perfect! I prepared a traditional English afternoon tea menu for my by British mother-in-law and included these scones served with thick cream (Devonshire) and homemade strawberry preserves. She absolutely loved them and commented that they were probably the best she has ever had. They have a wonderful texture, slightly moister than regular tea biscuits due to the sour cream, but still dry enough that the addition of the cream and jam makes them perfectly delicious. I will be using this recipe again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SandraJ

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2013
Excellent recipe and works beautifully followed as per the directions. Someone said they might be better without the egg........scones nearly, nearly always have an egg or two whatever depends on the amount of flour. I was brought up eating and baking scones so have tasted good and bad. Scones, like biscuits, are better eaten fresh.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newry, County Down, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2013
Delicious! Very buttery taste! I added blueberries to half of the recipe and they turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2013
I'm giving this 5 stars if you follow the directions with a couple differences. I just now made this recipe pre-mixing the sour cream and baking soda, and also with butter that had been sitting out about 20 min -- big mistake! Other times these have come out perfect, like THE BEST scone, flaky and incredible texture. Raves from everyone. This time, premixing the sour cream and with slightly less than fresh outta the fridge butter, they are... notably less good. As one other reviewer noted, "more like a muffin," alas. Tips: - KEEP THE BUTTER REALLY COLD - DON'T PREMIX THE SOUR CREAM + BAKING SODA. Just mix dry things, then cut in butter, add sour cream and egg. It is VERY crumbly if you do it this way. I shape this recipe into two rounds, you really need to press it together but the butter will make them stick, but barely. Then cut into 6 triangles then cut each in half; I end up with 24 smaller triangles. Add your extras after your mix, I use blueberries sometimes, or make cinnamon chips, or sometimes a "savory" verion by adding ham, cheddar, and green onion. They are ALL KILLER if you get that texture right!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2013
Easy to make and yummy. Would roll thicker than recipe suggests next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2013
Made these as a test run for my youngest's Tea Party Birthday. Followed the directions exactly but divided the dough and made 1/2 plain and 1/2 with dried blueberries. They were delicious! My daughter loved them too (she's almost 4) and gave her seal of approval. I plan to make these into 2.5 inch rounds with a biscuit cutter in blueberry and chocolate chip for her friends to have with their 'tea' at her party. Thanks for a new favorite go to recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DRUCIFER

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corning, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 1,804) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Grandma Johnson’s Scones

See how to make top-rated and time-tested scones.

How to Make Scones

Make classic Scottish scones from scratch. It's simple!

Simple Scones

These easy scones make breakfast or afternoon teas something special.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States