Grandma Johnson's Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2015
I followed the instructions with only one alteration. I split the portion in half. Mixed half with lemon poppy seed and the other half with orange raisin. They were delicious. My family finished them in hours
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2015
awesome! tender, moist, delicate, delicious - my new go to scone recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2015
Very good recipe. Easy to make. I substituted nonfat greek yogurt for the sour cream. I also added 1 tsp vanilla with the egg, and used craisins instead of raisins. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2015
This recipe comes out perfect every time. We use chocolate chips instead of the raisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2015
Omg these are amazing! Instead of raisins, I added chopped up chocolate and 2 cups frozen mixed berries and it's amazing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2015
I find that when i make these i need to add a litlle milk to get it to the consistency needed to pat it out. So delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2015
Made this tonight with blueberries and lemon. Amazing! I did add a teaspoon of vanilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sakuba29

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2015
For years I've had a go-to recipe for scones that would use up old milk. Lately though, instead of having a lot of milk to use, I've had a lot of leftover yogurt, and remembered I'd used this recipe once years ago. I used the yogurt instead of sour cream, and the texture and consistency of both the batter and the finished product are exactly as I feel scones should be. (That means, they are how I remember them growing up.) The technique of activating the baking soda with the acidity of the yogurt makes them so fluffy, and is probably a lost art, as very few modern recipes use this method. I might have to use this recipe more often in the future. Thank you Grandma Johnson, whoever you are.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Milford, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2015
Really good base. I think you can do anything from here. We added blueberries and made a nice tart lemon icing. Also did one set with fresh cranberries and a little orange.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2015
I first mad these delicious scones over two years ago. Some friends and I were having a tea party, and I was in charge of the scones. This recipe did not disappoint! I split the dough in thirds, and added a different mix in to each third. Then I made 3/4" high rectangle of each type, cutting zigzag across to make 8 mini scones of each type. For the mix-ins I used mini chocolate chips in one, golden raisins in another and left the last plain. Since then I have also added dried cranberries and orange extract for an amazing cranberry orange scone. This also works well with pecans and chopped dates for a truly decadent treat! Wonderful recipe! A definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by greenthumb

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,819) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Grandma Johnson’s Scones

See how to make top-rated and time-tested scones.

How to Make Scones

Make classic Scottish scones from scratch. It's simple!

Simple Scones

These easy scones make breakfast or afternoon teas something special.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States