Grandma Jensen's Nuts and Bolts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
Wouldn't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Minnesota_Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
We use this recipe and instead of crackers use Cheetos. We also add hot sauce or red hot pepper powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
Very good recipe. I added some chili powder and onion powder for a little extra flavour. Big hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rock_lobster
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2010
Can't go wrong w/ a classic, crunchy snack mix! I used what I had on hand (baby Goldfish, corn Chex, pretzel Goldfish, peanuts) - I scrapped the Cheerios b/c last time I baked those in a snack mix, they shriveled up to teeny, tiny little "O"s. I went a bit lighter on the butter, and for personal preference, added a shake of ground coriander and onion powder. Baking time is dead-on (don't forget to stir!), and upon cooling, I scooped in some golden raisins and mini M&Ms'. I am tossing handfuls of "Nuts & Bolts" in my mouth as I type this. /crunch. Thanks for an alternative to store-bought bags of Chex Mix!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rock_lobster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Braselton, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2011
Yummy! Unfortunately you can't double the recipe because it completely fills a large mixing bowl. I might try it with less butter next time so it won't be so greasy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2011
My mom used to make this, but now has dementia and we couldn't find the recipe. So happy to have it now. We substitute "Goldfish" for the cheese crackers. Nice to have an old friend back for the holidays. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2011
Made with a bunch of stuff in my cupboards (cheerios, gold fish crackers, pretzels, shreddies, etc.). Kept the sauce as written. Tasty and crunchy! Love it and will definitely be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kissjo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2012
I have migraine headaches and it is hard to find snacks that do not have what I call "the evil" MSG which is a trigger for headaches for me. So many of the homemade snacks have Ranch Dip mix that contain MSG so this one is perfect. This is delicious and perfect for parties. I had to omit the cheese crackers for the same reason but easily switched them for oyster crackers and the taste was great. I found I could also use popcorn or wheat crackers for a different flavor. Thanks Grandma Jensen and allrecipes.com!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol O

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Carrollton, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
I have these in the oven right now, and the smell is heavenly! I do this recipe exactly the way it is written, and it's always a HUGE hit! I made a double batch last year for gifts at Christmas time, and people were asking for the recipe. The only change this year was I couldn't find any Rice Chex (only corn), so I ended up adding a bit of extra of everything else. Still, it's going to taste great, and I'm going to devour quite a bit myself! Thanks so much for posting the wonderful, classic nuts and bolts recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MissKay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2013
Use your imagination to add or substitute to this great basic recipe. Original? No. Chex Mix recipes abound on wheat, rice, and corn chex cereal boxes. We've had this on hand during winter holidays for nearly 40 years. Don't hesitate - you'll love this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Caramel Snack Mix

This irresistible snack stars crispy cereal, nuts, and a simple caramel coating.

Sweet, Salty, Spicy Party Nuts

See how to make homemade gourmet spiced party nuts.

Sugar Glazed Pecans

Learn how to make this quick and easy, sweet and savory snack.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States