Grandma Jensen's Nuts and Bolts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Rock_lobster
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2010
Can't go wrong w/ a classic, crunchy snack mix! I used what I had on hand (baby Goldfish, corn Chex, pretzel Goldfish, peanuts) - I scrapped the Cheerios b/c last time I baked those in a snack mix, they shriveled up to teeny, tiny little "O"s. I went a bit lighter on the butter, and for personal preference, added a shake of ground coriander and onion powder. Baking time is dead-on (don't forget to stir!), and upon cooling, I scooped in some golden raisins and mini M&Ms'. I am tossing handfuls of "Nuts & Bolts" in my mouth as I type this. /crunch. Thanks for an alternative to store-bought bags of Chex Mix!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rock_lobster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Braselton, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
Wouldn't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Minnesota_Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
We use this recipe and instead of crackers use Cheetos. We also add hot sauce or red hot pepper powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2009
This is the recipe my family always makes. We didn't use any crackers until recently we have been using mini bagel chips. Love the Cheerios! Oh, and we use stick pretzels.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
Love this recipe. I also add Tabasco sauce and omit the Cheese crackers and replace with soup and chili crackers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2011
Yummy! Unfortunately you can't double the recipe because it completely fills a large mixing bowl. I might try it with less butter next time so it won't be so greasy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
I always add mixed nuts, onion pwd, hickory sticks, celery salt.....Life Cereal works well too.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2012
I have migraine headaches and it is hard to find snacks that do not have what I call "the evil" MSG which is a trigger for headaches for me. So many of the homemade snacks have Ranch Dip mix that contain MSG so this one is perfect. This is delicious and perfect for parties. I had to omit the cheese crackers for the same reason but easily switched them for oyster crackers and the taste was great. I found I could also use popcorn or wheat crackers for a different flavor. Thanks Grandma Jensen and allrecipes.com!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol O

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Carrollton, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2012
My family has made a similiar mix for years but we add a package of onion soup mix (or for garlic lovers - onion and roasted garlic soup mix) to melting butter. I also toast everything except the cheese crackers, and add them when the mix is cooled. Try some hickory potato sticks too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2011
Made with a bunch of stuff in my cupboards (cheerios, gold fish crackers, pretzels, shreddies, etc.). Kept the sauce as written. Tasty and crunchy! Love it and will definitely be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kissjo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Caramel Snack Mix

This irresistible snack stars crispy cereal, nuts, and a simple caramel coating.

Sweet, Salty, Spicy Party Nuts

See how to make homemade gourmet spiced party nuts.

Sugar Glazed Pecans

Learn how to make this quick and easy, sweet and savory snack.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States