Grandma Jensen's Nuts and Bolts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
Love this recipe. I also add Tabasco sauce and omit the Cheese crackers and replace with soup and chili crackers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2009
This is the recipe my family always makes. We didn't use any crackers until recently we have been using mini bagel chips. Love the Cheerios! Oh, and we use stick pretzels.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2009
Good and easy to make. I followed the recipe other then I didn't have cheese crackers or nuts, so added a bit more chex. Nice flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
Wouldn't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Minnesota_Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
We use this recipe and instead of crackers use Cheetos. We also add hot sauce or red hot pepper powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rock_lobster
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2010
Can't go wrong w/ a classic, crunchy snack mix! I used what I had on hand (baby Goldfish, corn Chex, pretzel Goldfish, peanuts) - I scrapped the Cheerios b/c last time I baked those in a snack mix, they shriveled up to teeny, tiny little "O"s. I went a bit lighter on the butter, and for personal preference, added a shake of ground coriander and onion powder. Baking time is dead-on (don't forget to stir!), and upon cooling, I scooped in some golden raisins and mini M&Ms'. I am tossing handfuls of "Nuts & Bolts" in my mouth as I type this. /crunch. Thanks for an alternative to store-bought bags of Chex Mix!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rock_lobster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Braselton, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
I always add mixed nuts, onion pwd, hickory sticks, celery salt.....Life Cereal works well too.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2011
Yummy! Unfortunately you can't double the recipe because it completely fills a large mixing bowl. I might try it with less butter next time so it won't be so greasy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2011
Made with a bunch of stuff in my cupboards (cheerios, gold fish crackers, pretzels, shreddies, etc.). Kept the sauce as written. Tasty and crunchy! Love it and will definitely be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kissjo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2011
My mom used to make this, but now has dementia and we couldn't find the recipe. So happy to have it now. We substitute "Goldfish" for the cheese crackers. Nice to have an old friend back for the holidays. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Caramel Snack Mix

This irresistible snack stars crispy cereal, nuts, and a simple caramel coating.

Sweet, Salty, Spicy Party Nuts

See how to make homemade gourmet spiced party nuts.

How to Toast Nuts

See how to toast raw nuts to draw out flavors and aromas—and get storage tips.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States