Grandma Jeanette's Amazing German Red Cabbage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2014
I had never had cooked cabbage before as a stand some dish but really liked it here. It is very sweet and even though I cut back on the recommended amount of sugar this time I will add even less next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane McCauley

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2014
Did not like the flavor and thought it had too much vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2014
I think I am just not a fan of allspice. Call me crazy, but don't skimp on the salt, kinda off sets the allspice in a good way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2014
AMAZING! Made just as instructed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2014
My daughter and I made this last weekend, it was delicious! Needed just a tab more sugar than called for. It was even better the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mistress Nicci

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Red Oak, Texas, USA
Living In: Euless, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2014
This was very good. I've made it a few times. Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
Way too much salt and no more cabbage to add to it. Added another apple and cinnamon and nutmeg to cut the saltiness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
I did not cook this recipe for the full two hours because I like my veggies a little crispier. It has a nice flavor and makes a pretty side dish with its bright purple color. I also was a little short on the red cabbage and substituted one cup of shredded carrots for the last cup, which gave it a confetti look. I'll make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by emily crawford

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
Depending on your level of vinegar tolerance you may need to play with vinegar/water ratio. For reference, My German husband who loves it when his mouth puckers from vinegar gave this a 6 star rating. I am not a big fan of vinegar and I still thought it was good but would def add more water and less vinegar next time. A few ppl mentioned their food was burning, I had to start adding water every 15 mins or so at about 1 hour to keep it from burning. I would recommend checking your pot at the hour mark and add a little water if it looks like its burning and do this every 15 mins or so until it is ready
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by foodaholic

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
It was tasty enough and the kitchen aromas were wonderful while it was cooking, but the ingredients cook down to a small amount of food with too much butter, salt and sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 151) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Bratwurst and Red Cabbage

What's cooking in Poulsbo, Wash.? Uli's famous sausage with braised cabbage.

Chef John’s Braised Red Cabbage

See how to make flavorful, quick-and-easy braised red cabbage.

German Potato Pancakes

See how to make real German-style potato pancakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States