Grandma Jane's Kicked Up Tomato and Cucumber Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2011
Very nice change from the "regular" tomato-and-cucumber salad. We all loved it. Thanx for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bussum, Noord-Holland, Netherlands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2011
This is EXCELLENT! Even the pickiest eaters will love this, as well as those who can take or leave cucumbers. It's going to be a summer staple and see many pot lucks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2011
Deliciously different tomato and cucumber salad! To simplify it, I used a 4.3 oz. bag of real bacon bits instead of cooking bacon and crumbling it. Of course, I didn't have the 1 T. of bacon drippings to add but that just made the dish healthier. Omitted the cumin. Reminded me of a BLT with the mayo, tomato, and bacon flavors. Just be sure to de-seed the tomatoes and drain off as much liquid as possible before adding to the salad to minimize the wateriness of the dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2011
This is more delicious and certainly more unique than most tomato/cucumber salads; thanks. I agree with marleneb- it will see ample potlucks and gatherings!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
GLUTEN FREE, DAIRY FREE AND YUMMY!!!! AM-AZ-ING. Refreshing, and yes, reminds me of a salad version of BLTs. Can't taste a strong cucumber or tomato flavor. Just refreshing and satifying ( nice to have a filling vegetable side dish). I left out the cumin. I plan on making this many times to come.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Spic3yL@dy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
This was pretty good but I REALLY didn't care for the cumin, next time I will leave it out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellieann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manson, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
Used turkey bacon. Didnt have cumin so I used some powdered chipotle pepper (smoked) to kick it up! This was yummy!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2012
I am vegetarian so I substituted Annie's shitake sesame dressing for the bacon/drippings and it was awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2012
I used reduced fat mayonnaise and I added it 1/4 cup at a time until it was as creamy as I wanted. The cumin was optional, I opted out. The bacon drippings were a stroke of genius. This salad is IN-sane. CRAZY GOOD.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2012
Extremely yummy! We cut back a bit on the pepper since the bacon we had was very peppery and added a splash of hot sauce to the dressing. Even people who "don't like cucumbers" ate it and wanted seconds. A great way to use up all the garden surplus.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

BLT Salad

Croutons, crispy bacon, and a creamy dressing, this salad has the BLT beat.

Red Broccoli Salad

Fresh broccoli with lots of bacon, grapes, almonds, and a sweet, tangy dressing.

Bodacious Broccoli Salad

A kicking, creamy 5-star broccoli salad with bacon and cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States