Grandma Jane's Kicked Up Tomato and Cucumber Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2011
Very nice change from the "regular" tomato-and-cucumber salad. We all loved it. Thanx for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bussum, Noord-Holland, Netherlands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2011
This is EXCELLENT! Even the pickiest eaters will love this, as well as those who can take or leave cucumbers. It's going to be a summer staple and see many pot lucks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2011
Deliciously different tomato and cucumber salad! To simplify it, I used a 4.3 oz. bag of real bacon bits instead of cooking bacon and crumbling it. Of course, I didn't have the 1 T. of bacon drippings to add but that just made the dish healthier. Omitted the cumin. Reminded me of a BLT with the mayo, tomato, and bacon flavors. Just be sure to de-seed the tomatoes and drain off as much liquid as possible before adding to the salad to minimize the wateriness of the dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2011
This is more delicious and certainly more unique than most tomato/cucumber salads; thanks. I agree with marleneb- it will see ample potlucks and gatherings!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
GLUTEN FREE, DAIRY FREE AND YUMMY!!!! AM-AZ-ING. Refreshing, and yes, reminds me of a salad version of BLTs. Can't taste a strong cucumber or tomato flavor. Just refreshing and satifying ( nice to have a filling vegetable side dish). I left out the cumin. I plan on making this many times to come.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Spic3yL@dy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
This was pretty good but I REALLY didn't care for the cumin, next time I will leave it out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellieann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manson, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
Used turkey bacon. Didnt have cumin so I used some powdered chipotle pepper (smoked) to kick it up! This was yummy!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2012
I am vegetarian so I substituted Annie's shitake sesame dressing for the bacon/drippings and it was awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2012
I used reduced fat mayonnaise and I added it 1/4 cup at a time until it was as creamy as I wanted. The cumin was optional, I opted out. The bacon drippings were a stroke of genius. This salad is IN-sane. CRAZY GOOD.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2012
Extremely yummy! We cut back a bit on the pepper since the bacon we had was very peppery and added a splash of hot sauce to the dressing. Even people who "don't like cucumbers" ate it and wanted seconds. A great way to use up all the garden surplus.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

BLT Salad

Croutons, crispy bacon, and a creamy dressing, this salad has the BLT beat.

Red Broccoli Salad

Fresh broccoli with lots of bacon, grapes, almonds, and a sweet, tangy dressing.

Bodacious Broccoli Salad

A kicking, creamy 5-star broccoli salad with bacon and cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States