Grandma Jane's Kicked Up Tomato and Cucumber Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
made just like written and we loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mimi’s Kitchen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hartselle, Alabama, USA
Living In: Decatur, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
I used crumbled bacon bits and added red pepper, omitted cumin. It was really easy to get my half plate full of veggies at dinner! Superb!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tracy m.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2013
Omitted cumin, as per other reviews; added dill weed (dry), and probably used more than a TBLS. of bacon drippings, but oh, my- this really does taste like a BLT- soooooooo good!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristin F.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Creston, Iowa, USA
Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2012
Not too bad. WAY too creamy. If you don't like super creamy colelaw, potato salad, etc. (as I don't), I recommend cutting the mayo down by half. I thought the cumin was a really nice add. If you're not sure whether you'll like cumin, smell the cumin first - it tastes like it smells.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Elle
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2012
This is really good! Creamy with a nice kick, it was a pleasant way to use up our garden cukes and tomatoes. We will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2012
Extremely yummy! We cut back a bit on the pepper since the bacon we had was very peppery and added a splash of hot sauce to the dressing. Even people who "don't like cucumbers" ate it and wanted seconds. A great way to use up all the garden surplus.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2012
I used reduced fat mayonnaise and I added it 1/4 cup at a time until it was as creamy as I wanted. The cumin was optional, I opted out. The bacon drippings were a stroke of genius. This salad is IN-sane. CRAZY GOOD.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2012
I am vegetarian so I substituted Annie's shitake sesame dressing for the bacon/drippings and it was awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
Used turkey bacon. Didnt have cumin so I used some powdered chipotle pepper (smoked) to kick it up! This was yummy!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
This was pretty good but I REALLY didn't care for the cumin, next time I will leave it out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellieann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manson, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

BLT Salad

Croutons, crispy bacon, and a creamy dressing, this salad has the BLT beat.

Red Broccoli Salad

Fresh broccoli with lots of bacon, grapes, almonds, and a sweet, tangy dressing.

Bodacious Broccoli Salad

A kicking, creamy 5-star broccoli salad with bacon and cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States