Grandma Jackie's Valentine Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by ACEFamily2012
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2015
This cake was a big hit with my family. I followed exactly as original recipe instructed and it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ACEFamily2012

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2014
Made this cake for Valentine's day and it was enjoyed by all. I poured half a pan with nuts and the other half without. I had problems with the cherries sinking to the bottom. It didn't affect the taste, just made the sliced appearances a little off. I frosted this with 'Grocery Store Frosting' from this site and that added a wonderful richness to the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2014
Delicious! I omitted the pecans for the sake of the kids and added some almond extract to the batter. I also used a whole 8 oz. jar of cherries (I've never seen a 4 oz. jar). I made 2 single layer heart cakes ans frosted them with 'Grocery Store Frosting', also from this site. Everyone really loves the flavor of this cake...a definite keeper~YUM! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
I made it using a moist white cake mix. I added 8oz of maraschino cherries and could have used more. I used pecans as well. The cherries and pecans were chopped in a food processor before I put each into the cake mix. I used a bundt cake pan. Excellent! I'll definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2009
didn't really care for this cake still tasted like a box cake mix for all the extra work you might as well buy a cherry cake mix!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda Timmer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2009
This cake is so very good! I used the whole 8 ounce bottle of cherries and put in the food processor and it worked great! I didnt have cool whip like I thought so i poured sweetend condensed milk(dulce de leche) over the top. It was decadent. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CookinBug
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2009
This tasted much better than I was expecting! I had to use Funfetti cake mix, as my dinky grocery store was sold out of plain white mix. It was a little funky looking inside, but it sure tasted good. Thanks :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinBug
Home Town: Ithaca, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2006
I made this in a bundt pan and topped the slices with whipped cream. The cake was very moist. Be sure to really chop the cherries up very finely and mix them well throughout the batter, otherwise you'll have trouble getting the cake out of the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Black Forest Cake

See how to make a rich Black Forest cake in the slow cooker!

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Tiramisu Layer Cake

This rich, coffee-flavored classic is surprisingly easy to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States