Grandma Irena's Palacsinta (Hungarian Crepes) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
In Budapest, we use Nesquik as a filler as well as various jams. The palacsinta recipe can be adapted to make savory meals as well. Another popular one in Hungary is Hortobagyi Palacsinta, a savory pancake stuffed with cooked seasoned chicken chopped fine, then rolled and covered in a paprka/sour cream sauce. The art and the versatility of the palacsinta is a lasting legacy from Hungarian kitchen! Thanks to contributor for helping spread the word! This recipe can be made as is or tweaked to unlimited variations!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2010
whenever my hungarian grandma comes visits she always makes this for breakfast but she never uses soda water or vegetable oil (except when she makes it on the stove) and she doesnt put it in the refrigerater over night and its still fabulous! oh and another thing we just like to use sugar or jam
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
i gave a crepe party for 7 yesterday using this recipe. Made ab. 40 crepes, 30 of which i cooked on 1 side, wrapped into them pre-cooked foods like chicken, sausages, and spinach/cheese filling, and fried again. These were wrapped into a money-purse shape. the other 10 crepes i fried on both sides and rolled fried bananas and fresh cherries into them, then broiled them and served w whipped cream, chocolate syrup and nuts. here are my observations on this recipe, i.e., on the batter and the making of the pancakes. 1. the mixing instuctions did not work fo me. flour and egg create dry, had lumps that are very difficult to get rid of in the batter. in my 2nd batch i followed the conventional method by beating the egg first with milk then mixing the rest of ingredients in. 2. dont need to use this much oil. you can half the oil in this recipe and still not have any sticking to the pan so why add those calories. 3. the just- cooked crepes do not stick together even when fried just on one side so no need to bother with wax or parchment paper. much time saved. still i prefer this recipe over the eggier-tasting french crepes so i do recomend it and will use again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2010
I am a Hungarian, but grew in Germany and tried Palacsinta with many different fillings. I prefer them filled with home-made jam, like apricot or strawberry!!!Germans make pancakes thicker, an often fill it with ham, (white) asparagus and Hollandaise sauce. Either way, sweet or savory, this is definitely worth a try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GerliNextDoor

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
I LOVE palacsinta my family fills the crepes with a filling made of cottage cheese,sour cream,sugar and raisins then srinkles them with sugar. Great fresh but I also love them the next day after being refridgerated!!!! So many memories of my great grandma this just brings me back!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2010
This is awesome! I love the Almond filling. Instead of vanilla, I used almond extract to make the almond flavor more potent. I also let the almond filling cook a little longer on low heat to make it thicker. The chocolate sauce was so easy to make and I used butter. I also topped it with whipped cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bestdumplings

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2010
My Grandma Fekete used to make these ALL the time when we were kids. We used just sugar and chocolate syrup - sometimes crushed walnuts - for the filling. So delicious hot or cold. I've never met a single person who didn't LOVE these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
Great recipe overall. I made this for my Hungarian husband and in-laws and they said it was good. The only difference in this and what they're used to is that their crepe was lighter. I think its because this recipe used oil and theirs used shortening. I will try it again using shortening, and also a flavored cottage cheese. This was a great recipe and very rich and sweet. Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leanna S

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2010
We used to make this recipe with my Mom, but instead of almonds, we used walnuts. I must try it with the almonds. She said it called gundell pancake, and in restaurants they serve it fired up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2010
My mom used to make these for my sister and I when my dad was on 2nd shift and not home for supper. She would fill them with a sweetened cottage cheese and powdered sugar on top -so yummy...now I make them for my kids and I usually end up eating more than they do! Maybe I'm subconsciously making them for myself! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Basic Crepes

Discover how easy it is to make five-star crepes.

Vanilla Crepes

A little extra vanilla in the batter makes these crepes irresistible.

Quick and Easy Crepes

See how to make light, delicious homemade crepes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States