Grandma Irena's Palacsinta (Hungarian Crepes) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
In Budapest, we use Nesquik as a filler as well as various jams. The palacsinta recipe can be adapted to make savory meals as well. Another popular one in Hungary is Hortobagyi Palacsinta, a savory pancake stuffed with cooked seasoned chicken chopped fine, then rolled and covered in a paprka/sour cream sauce. The art and the versatility of the palacsinta is a lasting legacy from Hungarian kitchen! Thanks to contributor for helping spread the word! This recipe can be made as is or tweaked to unlimited variations!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2010
My Grandma Fekete used to make these ALL the time when we were kids. We used just sugar and chocolate syrup - sometimes crushed walnuts - for the filling. So delicious hot or cold. I've never met a single person who didn't LOVE these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2010
Delicious! However, the pancake became a little gooey after being wrapped around the almond mixture for a while. I'm not sure if this was how it was meant to be, but my three little sisters all loved it nonetheless (that says more than you think!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2010
This is awesome! I love the Almond filling. Instead of vanilla, I used almond extract to make the almond flavor more potent. I also let the almond filling cook a little longer on low heat to make it thicker. The chocolate sauce was so easy to make and I used butter. I also topped it with whipped cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bestdumplings

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2010
My mom used to make these for my sister and I when my dad was on 2nd shift and not home for supper. She would fill them with a sweetened cottage cheese and powdered sugar on top -so yummy...now I make them for my kids and I usually end up eating more than they do! Maybe I'm subconsciously making them for myself! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2010
We used to make this recipe with my Mom, but instead of almonds, we used walnuts. I must try it with the almonds. She said it called gundell pancake, and in restaurants they serve it fired up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2010
I am a Hungarian, but grew in Germany and tried Palacsinta with many different fillings. I prefer them filled with home-made jam, like apricot or strawberry!!!Germans make pancakes thicker, an often fill it with ham, (white) asparagus and Hollandaise sauce. Either way, sweet or savory, this is definitely worth a try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GerliNextDoor

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2010
whenever my hungarian grandma comes visits she always makes this for breakfast but she never uses soda water or vegetable oil (except when she makes it on the stove) and she doesnt put it in the refrigerater over night and its still fabulous! oh and another thing we just like to use sugar or jam
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
Great recipe overall. I made this for my Hungarian husband and in-laws and they said it was good. The only difference in this and what they're used to is that their crepe was lighter. I think its because this recipe used oil and theirs used shortening. I will try it again using shortening, and also a flavored cottage cheese. This was a great recipe and very rich and sweet. Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leanna S

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
I LOVE palacsinta my family fills the crepes with a filling made of cottage cheese,sour cream,sugar and raisins then srinkles them with sugar. Great fresh but I also love them the next day after being refridgerated!!!! So many memories of my great grandma this just brings me back!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Basic Crepes

Discover how easy it is to make five-star crepes.

Vanilla Crepes

A little extra vanilla in the batter makes these crepes irresistible.

Quick and Easy Crepes

See how to make light, delicious homemade crepes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States