Grandma Irena's Palacsinta (Hungarian Crepes) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
OP here. Thank you all for the positive reviews. I don't mind at all if you add a 5 star review based on a memory of eating something similar; however, it is not fair to deduct stars based on a bias against one ingredient without even sampling the recipe under review. "It doesn't seem right to use chocolate" is not a valid criticism. Please do not leave a negative review if you haven't tried the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by michavissar

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
My grandma used to com visit and make these and my sister and I used to compete on who could eat more! we used to put jelly or preserves and cottage cheese inside roll them up and put sour crem on top. Although I am a chocaholic it doesnt seem right to use chocolate in them. She never used water but we use wondra flour and skim milk and no vegetable oil just margarine or spread in the skillet. Nan
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2013
My Hungarian Gran made these always, we ate them as a dinner dessert, the filling is a sweetened cottage cheese. Our recipe is simple and doesnt have to be refrigerated over night, 3 eggs,2 cups milk, 2 cups flour, 2 tsp sugar, and 1 tsp pure vanilla. The filling 1 lb cottage cheese 1 egg beaten, 1/3 cup sugar, 1 tsp vanilla. Make crepes, fill with cottage cheese filling, bake 350 30 minutes. Either recipe used Crepes are wonderful, a 10 star.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALESIA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lackawanna, New York, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2012
We use 1/4 cup lemon juice for the liquid and a grated lemon peel. Great lemon pancakes and then fill them with jam, roll them up and eat 'em. Oh the memories!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2011
My hungarian grandmother used these exact same pancakes. . .except filled them with cream, cinnomin, and sugar. :) I love them, but I'm excited to try them with chocolate!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2011
I made this exactly as described, except I added some rum raisins to the almond filling (I didn't add the optional rum to the filling itself). This recipe was delicious!! My husband swore that the crepes were the best palacsinta he's eaten. Thanks for posting this awesome recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
i gave a crepe party for 7 yesterday using this recipe. Made ab. 40 crepes, 30 of which i cooked on 1 side, wrapped into them pre-cooked foods like chicken, sausages, and spinach/cheese filling, and fried again. These were wrapped into a money-purse shape. the other 10 crepes i fried on both sides and rolled fried bananas and fresh cherries into them, then broiled them and served w whipped cream, chocolate syrup and nuts. here are my observations on this recipe, i.e., on the batter and the making of the pancakes. 1. the mixing instuctions did not work fo me. flour and egg create dry, had lumps that are very difficult to get rid of in the batter. in my 2nd batch i followed the conventional method by beating the egg first with milk then mixing the rest of ingredients in. 2. dont need to use this much oil. you can half the oil in this recipe and still not have any sticking to the pan so why add those calories. 3. the just- cooked crepes do not stick together even when fried just on one side so no need to bother with wax or parchment paper. much time saved. still i prefer this recipe over the eggier-tasting french crepes so i do recomend it and will use again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
I LOVE palacsinta my family fills the crepes with a filling made of cottage cheese,sour cream,sugar and raisins then srinkles them with sugar. Great fresh but I also love them the next day after being refridgerated!!!! So many memories of my great grandma this just brings me back!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
Great recipe overall. I made this for my Hungarian husband and in-laws and they said it was good. The only difference in this and what they're used to is that their crepe was lighter. I think its because this recipe used oil and theirs used shortening. I will try it again using shortening, and also a flavored cottage cheese. This was a great recipe and very rich and sweet. Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leanna S

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2010
whenever my hungarian grandma comes visits she always makes this for breakfast but she never uses soda water or vegetable oil (except when she makes it on the stove) and she doesnt put it in the refrigerater over night and its still fabulous! oh and another thing we just like to use sugar or jam
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Basic Crepes

Discover how easy it is to make five-star crepes.

Vanilla Crepes

A little extra vanilla in the batter makes these crepes irresistible.

Quick and Easy Crepes

See how to make light, delicious homemade crepes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States