Grandma Gudgel's Black Bottom Cupcakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2003
These tasted wonderful and were a hit with everyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2004
These were okay, but not extraordinary. To me, they just tasted like a chocolate chip muffin, even with the cream cheese topping. I made them for St. Patrick's Day and added a bit of green food coloring to the topping, so mine were chocolate and green. These are cute, but again, not really special enough to make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2007
I grew up on these as a kid. Exact same recipe as my moms. They did not seem as good as hers though. Then I remembered my mother kept them in the fridge. That made a difference. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2008
****EDIT: I just wanted to add this note. My mom used to make this as a cake (minus the cream cheese filling) in the 60's. Since I first saw this recipe, I've been racking my brain to remember what that cake was called. After a brief Google session it finally came back to me - Wacky Cake, aka Crazy Cake or Depression Cake. Anyway, I baked a batch of these today and they are so adaptable, lending themselves to any number of small changes as evidenced by the reviews. A hint to make them a "SURPRISE" cupcake: be sure to drop the cheese filling in a small spot in the center of each cake. That way as the cakes bake, the filling drops down and is covered up by the rising chocolate cake portion. ****** These are very good and a snap to make. Chocolate and cream cheese are such a great combination! This recipe yielded only 22 cupcakes for me. Maybe I filled my tins a little too full. Watch your baking time on these. I feel that 20 - 25 minutes is a better estimate. I did my first batch at 25 minutes and reduced the next to 20. On a purely personal note, I added a little more cocoa (about 1/3 instead of 1/4 cup) being a dark chocolate fan. I also added 1/2 teaspoon vanilla and 1/2 teaspoon lemon juice to the cream cheese mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emma

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2008
I love these because I'm not an "Icing" or a "Sweet" lover, mostly a chocolate lover!These are also great to bring to a function for kids/ no icing, much LESS Mess!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2008
Yummy! Pretty with the cream cheese showing up through the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2008
I thought these were really good. I did use some of the suggestions and increased my cocoa to about 1/3 c. and only baked for 25 minutes. Moist and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2008
These were absolutely PERFECT! Even better than the expensive ones they sell at coffeehouses. I followed the recipe exactly and baked for 30 minutes for a picture-perfect product. Will make these over and over again, much to my family and coworkers' delight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2008
I made these cupcakes for my employees. They turned out great. Only, my cupcakes had more of a filling then a topping, but I think I liked them better that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bloomsburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2008
Delicious. One of the first things I've ever baked, and they came out perfect! My entire family was thrilled with them. Even my boyfriend (who doesn't like chocolate! Blasphemy!) liked them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Hamilton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 91) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Red Velvet Cupcakes

See how to make a classic chocolate cake in delicious cupcake form.

Dark Chocolate Bacon Cupcakes

Discover what the smoky taste of bacon can do for dark chocolate.

Carrot Cupcakes with White Chocolate Icing

Moist carrot cupcakes with a cream cheese and white chocolate frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States