Grandma Gudgel's Black Bottom Cupcakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2008
Easy to make and DH LOVED them. I had my regular muffin tins up north so I neede to use the large size. I needed to bake the cupcakes about 8 min longer to compensate for size. Now I have "Mini Cakes". Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Gleason, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2008
Just like mom used to make! I have wanted this recipe for years, used to be a childhood favorite. Thanks so much for the trip down memory lane!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Brownstown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Nixa, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sumchelle
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2008
Nummy! What I liked about these was the texture contrast. Crusty outsides / soft insides. I'm with Kim, however. These did seem to end up as a "filled" cupcake, rather than a "topped" one. Changes: Replaced 3/4 of the water with coffee, and cut the sugar a little in the cupcake batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2008
These cupcakes were so easy to make and were scrumptious! I did as someone else mentioned and put 1/3 cup of cocoa instead and it turned out great. I only baked them for 20 mins and they were perfect. I took them to my Arthur Murray dance class and they were a huge hit!!! Will definitely make these again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2008
Delicious. One of the first things I've ever baked, and they came out perfect! My entire family was thrilled with them. Even my boyfriend (who doesn't like chocolate! Blasphemy!) liked them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Hamilton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2008
I made these cupcakes for my employees. They turned out great. Only, my cupcakes had more of a filling then a topping, but I think I liked them better that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bloomsburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2008
These were absolutely PERFECT! Even better than the expensive ones they sell at coffeehouses. I followed the recipe exactly and baked for 30 minutes for a picture-perfect product. Will make these over and over again, much to my family and coworkers' delight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2008
I thought these were really good. I did use some of the suggestions and increased my cocoa to about 1/3 c. and only baked for 25 minutes. Moist and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2008
Yummy! Pretty with the cream cheese showing up through the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2008
I love these because I'm not an "Icing" or a "Sweet" lover, mostly a chocolate lover!These are also great to bring to a function for kids/ no icing, much LESS Mess!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 94) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Red Velvet Cupcakes

See how to make a classic chocolate cake in delicious cupcake form.

Dark Chocolate Bacon Cupcakes

Discover what the smoky taste of bacon can do for dark chocolate.

Sweetheart Cupcakes

These colorful cupcakes are the perfect way to impress your sweetheart.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States