Grandma Gudgel's Black Bottom Cupcakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Photo by Linda Fogo
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2010
Excellent recipe. My grandmother had given me this recipe years ago. It was a favorite of all my family. I lost it and now it is back. I got 17 cupcakes from the chocolate cake batter. I then divided the entire cream cheese mixture to all the cakes. Turned out perfect. It will be more than 1 spoonful but will turn out great. A rich chocolate melt in your mouth treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda Fogo

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Venice, Florida, USA
Living In: Nokomis, Florida, USA
Reviewed: May 9, 2010
Really good will be making again and again. Didn't change the recipe at all
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Colleen Gartner

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2010
The recipe tasted like it was missing something, but that may be because I used gluten-free flour....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2010
These are my husband's all time favorite cupcakes, so I just had to make them for him for Valentine's Day. There are three from scratch recipes on this site (all are the same). I read through the countless reviews and I knew I wanted a rich, dark, chocolate cake for these - that being said here's what I did: I used 1/2 c. of Hershey's cocoa, 1 Tbsp. of pure vanilla, and replaced the water with strong brewed coffee and 2 tbsp. of half and half until it equaled 1 cup. I didn't change a thing with the cream cheese mixture except to add a little vanilla and make sure that the cream cheese and egg were at room temp. just as you do with cheese cakes. I used foil baking cups to bake these and got 18 cupcakes. Watch carefully - mine were done in 20 minutes not 30 -35. Cool and store in the fridge as they're best the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
109 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2010
These were delicious! I used the mini morsels instead of regular sized chocolate chips because my husband wasn't too thrilled about there being big chocolate chips in them. I also upped the cocoa to 1/3 cup as recommended by many on here! Thanks! Came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2010
Perfection! I added more cocoa (because I love dark chocolate) and added a bit of vanilla to the cream cheese mix. I only had to bake for 22 min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2009
its just an ordinary chocolate chips muffin for me.. but its ok.. i will not probably make this again..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roda Pierce

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2009
I needed a quick dessert with items I had in my house. I also love cheesecake and chocolate so this recipe certainly fit the bill. I also upped the cocoa and added vanilla to the cheesecake filling. I baked for 20 minutes and did get 24 cupcakes. It was a hit and I'll be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2009
This is my favorite cupcake of all time! I'm like some others who prefer chocolate over icing. I've been enjoying these for several years after a friend made some and shared the recipe. The cream cheese mixture is a 'filling', not a topping. In fact, I put a little more batter on top to ensure the cream cheese is my surprise inside. I do add vanilla and use 1/3 c. cocoa instead of 1/4, and cook only about 25 minutes. I, too, only get about 22 cupcakes out of the batch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Texarkana, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2009
Just made a batch and ate one still hot with gooey chocolate chips. used jumbo chocolate chips. They are really good! Easy to make...after reading the recipe, I had them in the oven in no time. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 91) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Red Velvet Cupcakes

See how to make a classic chocolate cake in delicious cupcake form.

Dark Chocolate Bacon Cupcakes

Discover what the smoky taste of bacon can do for dark chocolate.

Carrot Cupcakes with White Chocolate Icing

Moist carrot cupcakes with a cream cheese and white chocolate frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States