Grandma Gudgel's Black Bottom Cupcakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2011
So good, I can't stop eating them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jcombs
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
VERY delicious - I would perhaps make the chocolate at the bottom more "chocolatey" (more cocoa & sugar?). Also, I would definitely fill the cupcakes to more than 1/3 full. You'll have to wait until they cool down to get them out of the wrappers, if you do use the wrappers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
These were really good! Like I read in a few other reviews, I used a cup of mini chocolate chips, added a teaspoon of vanilla to the cream cheese mixture, and increased the cocoa to 1/3 cup. We baked ours for 20 minutes and made exactly 24 cupcakes. My only critique is that I wish the cake part would have had a richer taste; but it could just be that I'm used to the taste of chocolate cupcake boxed mixes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2011
Absolutely delicious! These were very rich, so I used mini-cupcake pans. I made close to five batches total, but they still managed to disappear quickly. Everyone is begging for these to be made again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gktfrank
Home Town: Gainesville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2011
I've had this recipe so long, my recipe card is yellowed!!! I frost them for extra goodness!! An oldy, but goodie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy Gearity Bory

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Farmingdale, New York, USA
Living In: Deer Park, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sheerblonde05
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
Moist, chocolatey and rich!. I poured batter into a springform pan and made it a cake instead and it turned our wonderfully!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sheerblonde05

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2011
Love them. Easy, tasty, and loved by everyone who ate them at my house. This recipe is definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Eagle River, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
Awsome! Taste great!! I made reg size and batter doesnt make to many cupcakes so I double it. Cream cheese batter is enough for two batches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
I made these for my friends birthday and they disappeared immediately. Even my friend who said they hate cream cheese really enjoyed these cupcakes. Not to mention they look incredibly cool. Only made about 18 cupcakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mumsy

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2010
Oh my these were good!! I did change the recipe a little because I try to make things healthier but still tasty, and I succeeded this time (it doesn't always work)! I cut the sugar in the cream cheese mix to 1/4 cup, and the chocolate chips to 3/4 cup. In the cake part I replaced the sugar with 1/2 cup raw honey, and because of that I reduced the water to 3/4 cup and added 1/2 tsp to the baking soda. I substituted applesauce for the oil and used home ground whole wheat flour. And it was fantastic! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 94) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Red Velvet Cupcakes

See how to make a classic chocolate cake in delicious cupcake form.

Dark Chocolate Bacon Cupcakes

Discover what the smoky taste of bacon can do for dark chocolate.

Sweetheart Cupcakes

These colorful cupcakes are the perfect way to impress your sweetheart.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States