Grandma Gudgel's Black Bottom Cupcakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
I remembered this from the 70's - and I thought my son would love these for his 14th birthday, since they combine the cheesecake like filling with chocolate cake. It was a hit! These are pretty rich - so in the 70's my mother always make mini cupcakes. I make both mini's and fill size - I was able to get a dozen of each. Based on the other reviews, I added additional cocoa and kept an eye on baking time - took about 22 min for regular cupcakes and about 16 min for minis. Next time out, I'll make all minis
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2012
Delicious. I added a bit of extra cocoa. Make sure that the cream cheese is at room temperature and that before you add the chocolate chips be sure that the cream cheese is thick so that it goes down in to the chocolate batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
I loved how these little nuggets of goodness came out. A little crispy on the outside and creamy on the inside. I replaced 1/4 cups of coffee from the water qty. and vanilla in the cream cheese. Also I baked them only for 20 minutes and were perfectly done. I suggest check for doneness in 20 min. I made only 20 of them and were gone in a few hrs. my children devoured them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2012
These didn't turn out for me at all. I do a decent amount of baking, so I don't think I totally botched the recipe, but I very well may have. The taste was very good, but the batter did some weird boil over while baking business, and then the finished result was some gooey, weird, uneven little creatures that I can't call cupcakes. I thought maybe the fat free cream cheese I used was a bad choice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2012
Great recipe and very simple to make! I didn't change a thing about this recipe. I baked mine for 30 minutes, and they turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by susieq624

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Kennesaw, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2012
I was happy to find this recipe, as I had lost mine and these are always a family favorite, as well as an easy contribution for potlucks and picnics. I am sure mine had more cocoa, and also had vanilla in the cream cheese mixture, so I adjusted and added them. I also reserve the chocolate chips and sprinkled them on the tops before baking, so that they are visible and evenly distributed. They also look more decorative that way, and sink down just enough. I used mini-muffin tins and reduced the baking time. I had enough batter for 36 small ones, and 4 full-size cupcakes. They were delicious, and every one of them disappeared. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2012
Delicious, however I did cheat and use a Triple Chocolate cake MIX! Came out beautiful~ Yielded 24 medium (cupcake store size) and 6 regular size Only baked for 20 min @ 350
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DeniseM

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waterville, Maine, USA
Living In: Exeter, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2012
Delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by robcangel

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Gainesville, Florida, USA
Photo by RebeccaD
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2012
These were absolutely decadent! Rich, moist and delicious. Perfect as written. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RebeccaD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Millerton, New York, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2012
These are delicious! The cupcake was moist and the cream cheese filling was just right although the recipe makes way too much of it. I will probably cut the cream cheese recipe in half the next time I make these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by walkingfit

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 91) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Red Velvet Cupcakes

See how to make a classic chocolate cake in delicious cupcake form.

Chocolate Beer Cupcakes with Whiskey Filling

Stout in the batter, whiskey in the chocolate filling, Irish cream in the icing!

Dark Chocolate Bacon Cupcakes

Discover what the smoky taste of bacon can do for dark chocolate.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States