Grandma Gudgel's Black Bottom Cupcakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2010
Oh my these were good!! I did change the recipe a little because I try to make things healthier but still tasty, and I succeeded this time (it doesn't always work)! I cut the sugar in the cream cheese mix to 1/4 cup, and the chocolate chips to 3/4 cup. In the cake part I replaced the sugar with 1/2 cup raw honey, and because of that I reduced the water to 3/4 cup and added 1/2 tsp to the baking soda. I substituted applesauce for the oil and used home ground whole wheat flour. And it was fantastic! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
Very good. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rachealvarhola

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hampton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Gloucester, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2010
These were fantastic. I also increased the amount of cocoa powder to 1/3 cup and they were great. They are best warm so don't be afraid to heat them a little in the microwave after they cool.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sycamore, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by morenacupcakes
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
yum yum!!! It's a great experience to try baking at the first time. I chose this cupcake 'coz engridients are easy to find and directions are easy to follow. My cupcakes turned out very nice and yummy. For sure this cup cakes will always be on my top list. :) thank you for sharing this to us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by morenacupcakes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Linda Fogo
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2010
Excellent recipe. My grandmother had given me this recipe years ago. It was a favorite of all my family. I lost it and now it is back. I got 17 cupcakes from the chocolate cake batter. I then divided the entire cream cheese mixture to all the cakes. Turned out perfect. It will be more than 1 spoonful but will turn out great. A rich chocolate melt in your mouth treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda Fogo

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Venice, Florida, USA
Living In: Nokomis, Florida, USA
Reviewed: May 9, 2010
Really good will be making again and again. Didn't change the recipe at all
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Colleen Gartner

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2010
The recipe tasted like it was missing something, but that may be because I used gluten-free flour....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2010
These are my husband's all time favorite cupcakes, so I just had to make them for him for Valentine's Day. There are three from scratch recipes on this site (all are the same). I read through the countless reviews and I knew I wanted a rich, dark, chocolate cake for these - that being said here's what I did: I used 1/2 c. of Hershey's cocoa, 1 Tbsp. of pure vanilla, and replaced the water with strong brewed coffee and 2 tbsp. of half and half until it equaled 1 cup. I didn't change a thing with the cream cheese mixture except to add a little vanilla and make sure that the cream cheese and egg were at room temp. just as you do with cheese cakes. I used foil baking cups to bake these and got 18 cupcakes. Watch carefully - mine were done in 20 minutes not 30 -35. Cool and store in the fridge as they're best the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
110 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2010
These were delicious! I used the mini morsels instead of regular sized chocolate chips because my husband wasn't too thrilled about there being big chocolate chips in them. I also upped the cocoa to 1/3 cup as recommended by many on here! Thanks! Came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2010
Perfection! I added more cocoa (because I love dark chocolate) and added a bit of vanilla to the cream cheese mix. I only had to bake for 22 min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 95) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Red Velvet Cupcakes

See how to make a classic chocolate cake in delicious cupcake form.

Dark Chocolate Bacon Cupcakes

Discover what the smoky taste of bacon can do for dark chocolate.

Sweetheart Cupcakes

These colorful cupcakes are the perfect way to impress your sweetheart.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States