Grandma Gudgel's Black Bottom Cupcakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2011
Absolutely delicious! These were very rich, so I used mini-cupcake pans. I made close to five batches total, but they still managed to disappear quickly. Everyone is begging for these to be made again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gktfrank
Home Town: Gainesville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2011
I've had this recipe so long, my recipe card is yellowed!!! I frost them for extra goodness!! An oldy, but goodie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Farmingdale, New York, USA
Living In: Deer Park, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sheerblonde05
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
Moist, chocolatey and rich!. I poured batter into a springform pan and made it a cake instead and it turned our wonderfully!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sheerblonde05

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2011
Love them. Easy, tasty, and loved by everyone who ate them at my house. This recipe is definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Eagle River, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
Awsome! Taste great!! I made reg size and batter doesnt make to many cupcakes so I double it. Cream cheese batter is enough for two batches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
I made these for my friends birthday and they disappeared immediately. Even my friend who said they hate cream cheese really enjoyed these cupcakes. Not to mention they look incredibly cool. Only made about 18 cupcakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mumsy

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2010
Oh my these were good!! I did change the recipe a little because I try to make things healthier but still tasty, and I succeeded this time (it doesn't always work)! I cut the sugar in the cream cheese mix to 1/4 cup, and the chocolate chips to 3/4 cup. In the cake part I replaced the sugar with 1/2 cup raw honey, and because of that I reduced the water to 3/4 cup and added 1/2 tsp to the baking soda. I substituted applesauce for the oil and used home ground whole wheat flour. And it was fantastic! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
Very good. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rachealvarhola

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hampton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Gloucester, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2010
These were fantastic. I also increased the amount of cocoa powder to 1/3 cup and they were great. They are best warm so don't be afraid to heat them a little in the microwave after they cool.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sycamore, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by morenacupcakes
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
yum yum!!! It's a great experience to try baking at the first time. I chose this cupcake 'coz engridients are easy to find and directions are easy to follow. My cupcakes turned out very nice and yummy. For sure this cup cakes will always be on my top list. :) thank you for sharing this to us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by morenacupcakes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 91) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Red Velvet Cupcakes

See how to make a classic chocolate cake in delicious cupcake form.

Dark Chocolate Bacon Cupcakes

Discover what the smoky taste of bacon can do for dark chocolate.

Chocolate Beer Cupcakes with Whiskey Filling

Stout in the batter, whiskey in the chocolate filling, Irish cream in the icing!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States