Grandma Gudgel's Black Bottom Cupcakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2011
I've heard of Black Bottom cupcakes before but I've never made nor had them. Where have I been all my life? I'm sure the consistency of the cream cheese portion will change to that of cheesecake once they're refrigerated and that will be delicious too. But right now, straight out of the oven and cooled, the chocolate part is moist with a just right level of chocolatiness and the cream cheese part is creamy and decadent. All three, the cake, the cream cheese center and the chocolate chips all combine to create this special cupcake. I suppose one could add vanilla to the cream cheese mixture or substitute coffee for the water, all good suggestions. But other than using mini-chocolate chips I prepared the recipe as directed and it was just fine as is. Tinker if you feel compelled to, but it really isn't necessary. I do question the long baking time directed though - I made my cupcakes bigger, yielding 18 rather than 24, and still they were done perfectly at 23 minutes, so I can't imagine how baking these for 30-35 minutes could produce a good result. To avoid dry cupcakes and/or filling, be careful to bake these just until set.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2011
Excellent! My guest devoured these. I did add about a teaspoon or two of vanilla to the cream cheese mixture, and also substituted 1/2 cup of strong coffee for part of the water. Really brought out the chocolate flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2011
These were pretty good! They were really easy to make. Mine sank a little =(. I think I could have cooked them a bit longer. It is a nice treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by April Ard Louviere

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bainbridge, Georgia, USA
Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2011
I am so sad that I did not like this!! I saw them last week and was so exited to try them out! They would be great if it wasnt for the chocolate batter part it just tasted so bland and chewy. And like someone else mentioned there is not enough for 18-24 cupcakes more like 12-15.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2011
Followed the recipe exactly except we made half and it turned out making 24 mini cupcakes plus 2 big ones. Added a bit of extra cocoa and chocolate chips. Used light cream cheese and it worked fine. They turned out AWESOME
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jcook45
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2011
Very good, but a little rich! I guess that is to be expected. Next time I would layer the chocolate/cream cheese batter a little more for a more varied look and taste. I will definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jcook45

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2011
These were so dry on the bottom I sure thought these would be better than this. I can eat them when they are hot but when they cool they are so tough I just threw them away.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anna
Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2011
Wow these are great! FWI They were done after 25 min and I only got 20 cupcakes. I used the low-fat cream cheese I had on hand and because I was afraid the substitution would make it too runny and spill all over my oven I mixed it up the day before and let the cream cheese mixture set up over night. Then the next morning I made the chocolate cake part and added the cream cheese with a cookie scoop. It sank down perfectly into the chocolate for a nice creamy center and baked up perfect with no spills. I will be making these again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2011
I changed the cocoa to 1/3 cup, added 1 tsp vanilla to filling, and cooked for 20 minutes per other reviewers. These were okay, didn't really think they were that special, though. Didn't have the "wow" factor that I was expecting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hot Springs, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2011
So good, I can't stop eating them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jcombs

Displaying results 31-40 (of 93) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Red Velvet Cupcakes

See how to make a classic chocolate cake in delicious cupcake form.

Dark Chocolate Bacon Cupcakes

Discover what the smoky taste of bacon can do for dark chocolate.

Carrot Cupcakes with White Chocolate Icing

Moist carrot cupcakes with a cream cheese and white chocolate frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States