Grandma Gudgel's Black Bottom Cupcakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by RebeccaD
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2012
These were absolutely decadent! Rich, moist and delicious. Perfect as written. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RebeccaD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Millerton, New York, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2012
These are delicious! The cupcake was moist and the cream cheese filling was just right although the recipe makes way too much of it. I will probably cut the cream cheese recipe in half the next time I make these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by walkingfit

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2012
These were very good, especially after the refrigeration, however they require cupcake liners because they are very moist and a little too crumbly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
My mom made these all the time when I was growing up and now I make them for every occasion! They are always a favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori Iszkiewicz

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allegany, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mis7up
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
This recipe has been sitting in my recipe box for 3 years and 4 days...wow! I have made another recipe like this. And didn't realize until I went back into my hidden treasures and discovered this. The recipe was totally simple and easy. I will have to say, that 1st make sure you cream the cream cheese very well before adding the egg, sugar and salt. Because your cream cheese will be lumpy if you don't. I also used mini semi-sweet chips and it worked out nicely. The chocolate batter was devine, so we thought and this is a total keeper. When they were done, the cream cheese batter was ligtly soft and not thick, still creamy and not overly sweet. It was totally spot on. The cake, pulled threw with a perfect balance of chocolate flavor. I was totally surprised. My cake was completely done and very moist and I found, the kids were gobbling them up. I don't know why, I hadn't tried these sooner. TY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mis7up

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burkburnett, Texas, USA
Living In: Cave Junction, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
The husband is a huge fan of these cupcakes and we always buy them. I decided to make them because the recipe looked surprisingly easy...and it was! Great amount of cream cheese mixture per cupcake and cake part is moist. Next time will cut chocolate chips down to half a cup and/or go with the mini size as others suggest. One whole cup of regular size chips sligtly over-powered the cupcake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2011
Let me just say, these cupcakes are amazing. My picky husband was eating them hot out of the oven! They eliminate the need for frosting which is awesome and saves you a step. Thanks for the great recipe. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2011
very yummy! everyone loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lauren0515
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2011
My favorite cupcakes by far! Had the same recipe growing up, and they are a big hit every time I make them! I make regular size and mini size. The mini are so easy to eat you can easily lose count!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2011
These were so delicious. I followed some other reviews and used a 1/3 cup of cocoa (made it more chocolatey). I poured 16 cupcakes into muffin cups, which I baked for about 18 minutes and they came out perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 93) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Chef John's Red Velvet Cupcakes

See how to make a classic chocolate cake in delicious cupcake form.

Dark Chocolate Bacon Cupcakes

Discover what the smoky taste of bacon can do for dark chocolate.

Sweetheart Cupcakes

These colorful cupcakes are the perfect way to impress your sweetheart.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States