Grandma Grippin's Brown Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by JoeTheBaker
Reviewed: May 30, 2011
How to Make This Recipe Work for You: I started this recipe knowing I would have to make some adjustments. Previous reviewers stated problems with thin, syrupy sauce, sauce boiling over in the oven, etc. so I cut the sugar syrup recipe in half (1 C. brown sugar, 2 Tbsp. butter, 2 C water) and let the it simmer while preparing the 'biscuit' part so as to reduce it a bit further. For the second part of the recipe, I mixed the flour mixture into the creamed butter and sugar with a wooden spoon until it resembled pea-sized bits. Then, I added milk (probably about 1 C; I eyeballed it) until the dough was of drop biscuit consistency. I heeded the previous reviewer's advice and, rather than dropping the batter into the sauce by spoonfuls, I spread it into a greased 9x13 dish, used a large fork to tear holes in it, and poured the sugar syrup over the top. The pudding was done after 25 minutes in my oven. As expected, the sauce moved from top to bottom, and thickened nicely. As-is, I would give the recipe 2.5 stars because of the excessive syrup, milk measurement, and because I think the dough should go in the pan before the syrup whether you drop it or spread it. Even with my modifications, I give it 4 stars because while the flavor is good, the 'dough' part is still lacking (a little bit too much of a flour taste for me). I will try adding more spices to the dough, and adding another cup of sugar syrup because...well..I don't give up that easily :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JoeTheBaker

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Devine, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2010
This is a lot like my mothers recipe for "Quick Pudding." I put enough milk to make a thick batter. Then spread the batter in the baking dish, and pour the brown sugar water over the batter... we also add 11/2 cups raisins to the batter. When finished baking, the water and brown sugar and raisins are on the bottom and thickened. We serve it with ice cream or whipped cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2008
It was okay. A little too sweet for us and way too much water. I even cut it down to 3 cups like others suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Krista Rhodes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salem, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2006
Thank you for a trip down memory lane. We found it to be very soupy like but good flavor. I added cool whip on top before serving. I will add vanilla next time and a little cornstarch to the brown sugar and water to thicken it a bit. I LOVED the "down home" simplicity to this recipe. Thank you for the old memories made new.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BertsMert

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2006
Ya this is kind of weird. It is basically floating biscuits in a syrup sauce. However, if that's how it is made traditionally, you can't complain. Taste wise, it's pretty good. Just different but I can see how they really liked this in the olden days. I decided to take a couple of the cooked biscuits off the top and put them in a bowl. Then I added the syrup on top and lightly mixed it to a pudding consistancy. This made it much more like a bread pudding. Then for fun I added rasins which was the right thing to do. It was pretty good after that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MYKIDSMOM5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Morgan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2005
The taste is good, but it overflowed so BAD while cooking that my whole house filled with smoke and the smell of burning sugar. My hubby was so mad!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara P

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Liverpool, New York, USA
Living In: Wiscasset, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2005
the dough was too thick so i had to add another cup of milk but it was sooooooooooooo nice! lovely!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sunflower1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mansfield, Nottinghamshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2005
I thought this was horrible. Although I can see how some people like it, it didn't suit my taste. It was too un-refined.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2005
Sounds like everyone was expecting something different that what this recipe really is. You have to remember this is from an era where the people lived on hardly anything extravagant... but this was something that they could provide for their family as a treat. My mom loved it as it reminded her of what my grandmother used to make for her as a child. Definitely a recipe that brings back some memories of those who grew up on it. To the author of the recipe! Congratulations are sharing a genuine recipe that brings delightful memories back to those who grew up on this simple economical dessert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Charlotte

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2004
Okay I am giving this four stars because I hated it, but my 88 year old granpa requested 'brown pudding' for thanksgiving absolutely loved it. I made it and thought it was soggy and tasted like brown sugar water, but as for the man who grew up on this, he said it is EXACTLY what he remembered his mom making. Thank you for giving me something i cam make especially for him. I guess I just am not a fan, but for traditional 'brown pudding' this is THEE one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Chocolate Cornstarch Pudding

See how to make a super-simple, 5-star chocolate pudding.

Raisin Bread Pudding

Save room for apple and raisin bread pudding. See how easy it is to make.

Meadowwood Tapioca Pudding

See what it takes to make a complete “homestead meal” including tapioca pudding.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States