Grandma Flo's Shipwreck Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2015
I layered the potatoes, meat and beans (In that order).Did not brown meat(gotta love that!). On top of the potato layer I sprinkled the chopped onion and 1/4 t garlic powder. On meat layer I sprinkled the pepper. Pour 1 can tom. soup over and 1/2 can water. Cooked in crockpot on low 5 hours.(My crockpot tends to cook quite quickly.) Add 2c frozen vegies, turn crockpot on high for 10-20 mins or until vegies are hot. Very hearty homestyle dish. Kids really loved it. I added NO SALT to the recipe. Next time I may add a little thyme too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
We really like this one for cold winter nights. I did make several changes. I cook the meat prior and season it with garlic powder, onion powder and chili powder. I cubed the potatoes and season with salt and pepper. Then I layer the potatoes, onion, added mushrooms, added corn and then the kidney beans. Added an envelope of onion soup mix, then the meat and twice the amount of soup with an added can of water. Put it in the crockpot for 4-5hrs on low. Delish!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2013
This was really good, needs some doctoring up but overall a simple and delicious meal. I pre-browned the ground beef as per recommendation and added a soy seasoning packet. I also used an 18.7 ounce can of Campbell's Homestyle Harvest Tomato and Basil instead of the condensed soup. Cooked a half hour covered then only 20 minutes uncovered with a ton of sharp cheddar cheese on top. Next time I'll definitely cook it longer, the potatoes are cooked but not as soft as I'd personally like. Also, to keep it from being dry, when you serve it spoon a little of the tomato soup from the bottom of the casserole over your dish so it stays juicy. I think next time I'll add corn, and chop the onions up more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley Byszkowski

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2013
I have been eating this my whole life as my mother made it often, she used more soup and also added a pat of butter and a sprinkling of rice to each layer, always precook the hamburger and chop the onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carla Seif

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shiocton, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
Just like my mom used to make 40 years ago! Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2011
I was surprised at how good this recipe is. I wasn't sure if you're supposed to brown the beef first so I did, along with some minced garlic. Otherwise followed the recipe exactly. It was slightly on the dry side but not terribly so. I didn't have time to read any of the reviews first, but having read them after the fact, I will try what other people have done, such as possibly using baked beans instead, adding more spices to the beef, and keeping it covered for 1 hr instead of the 30 min. 5 stars though for simplicity...gotta love that!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Windsor, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2011
Wonderful aroma when baking and absoulutely delicious! So easy! Deserves 5 stars, easy and yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2011
This was a good basic recipe, I made a few adjustments...I browned the ground beef with onion and seasoning. I added half a can of water to the tomato soup as well as a tablespoon of brown sugar and some chili powder. Baked covered for 45 minutes, added lots of shredded cheese to the top and baked another 30 minutes uncovered. This is similar to a baked potato with chili on top so some of us added some sour cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2010
This was good! I was a little leery at first, but it was very good. I thought I had kidney beans but of course I didnt, so I used corn...figured they were close LOL! Anyway, it was very good. My husband calls it "Chili with potatoes". 2 of his favorite things. I also topped with cheddar cheese and baked an additional 15 minutes so it would brown nicely. This was a nice change for the ground beef blues!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ami  Herrmann

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Arnold, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2010
I've made this for years with a bit of variation. Brown the ground beef with seasonings. Place in casserole. Layer 2..thinly sliced onions Layer 3..1 can of pork and beans Sprinkle with a couple tbsp. brown sugar Pour 1 can tomato soup mixed with 1/2 can of water over all. Bake the same as in recipe above only at 350 degrees F
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Stuffed Peppers

See how to make delicious, beefy stuffed bell peppers.

Shepherd's Pie VI

See how to make a simple one-pot meal the family will crave.

Grandma VanDoren’s White Bread

Mmm, delicious homemade bread just like grandma used to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States