Grandma Flo's Shipwreck Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2003
I made this simply for the fact that I had little in the house to work with and I had everythign for this. I was actually pleasently surprised with the result. I browned the meat ahead of time, added lots of garlic and other spices, and used tomato sauce instead of soup. It was really good with cheddar cheese melted on top. Great for when you want a hot meal but aren't in the mood to mess around in the kitchen all night. Will probably make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2003
I have had this recipe for quite sometime, my other in law gave it to me over a year ago. I saw the same recipe on this site and I thought no time like the better to try this dish.It was really good" it was really quick and easy. I made it for my toddler and husband they loved it. Only thing I do different is add more seasoning to my meat and use more potatoes. Really good flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2003
This recipe was okay. I followed the advice given by some other reviewers and browned the beef first and decreased the baking time to 45 minutes. I added garlic powder but it was still a little bland. My husband and I ate it, but I probably won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2003
While I thought this was pretty good, my husband LOVED it. He said it was surprisingly good because it doesn't look all that appetizing. The clincher for me is that it is such an easy recipe to put together (and likely have all ingredients on hand). I did brown ground beef first and baked only 50 minutes total. I also added some garlic salt to cooked beef (potato layer definately needs to be salted on its own) and shredded cheddar on top after it was done--just put back in oven long enough to melt cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2002
My husband loves this dish. I take him dinner in the evenings and he is always asking me to make this for him. Good recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2002
Not quite like my mom used to make, but we're getting close!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leslee Haylett

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA
Living In: Helena, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2002
I used Ranch Style Beans with jalepenos instead of kidneys and used tomato sauce instead of soup. My husband liked it and I will make it again. My toddler wasn't interested but it didn't look very kid friendly, next time I will try it with cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2002
It doesn't look pretty but it tastes great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2002
I added oregano to the potatoes and precooked the hamburger with some extra seasoning. I only needed to cook for about 45 minutes and topped with mozzarella. My toddlers loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2001
This was a great "catch-all" hotdish. Perfect for when you feel you don't have anything in the cupboards. I did add the cheddar cheese and used yukon gold potatoes. The dish had plenty of flavor. Mmmmm-mmm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Stuffed Peppers

See how to make delicious, beefy stuffed bell peppers.

Shepherd's Pie VI

See how to make a simple one-pot meal the family will crave.

Grandma VanDoren’s White Bread

Mmm, delicious homemade bread just like grandma used to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States