Grandma Flo's Shipwreck Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2005
The recipe made as-is would probably be pretty plain and salty. However, on the advice of reviewers, I made some changes. I did around 22 oz. of spaghetti sauce instead of tomato soup, I reduced the salt to 1/2 tsp total and that was fine. I browned the meat first because I did not want all that grease in my meal, and I spiced the meat with white pepper, oregano and thyme while browning. I cooked it covered for one hour and only 20 minutes uncovered because I was using red potatoes and they cook faster. Overall, this was a lot better than I thought it was going to be, and even though it takes awhile to cook, it was pretty easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sola

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2005
I just had to make this recipe after reading all the reviews! To prevent the dish from being dry, follow my suggestions. Using a 10" round 2.5 qt casserole I layered thinly sliced potatoes, some salt, RAW ground sirloin, some salt, pepper and garlic powder, thinly sliced onion, the well drained and rinsed kidney beans and then topped it with the tomato soup. I covered the casserole with aluminum foil and baked it at 375 for one hour. I then took off the foil for 30 minutes and continued to bake it. Maybe because round is leaner than beef, it really is not necessary to uncover this dish. The liquid starts to evaporate and the beans will dry out. If you brown the beef first, it removes the cooking liquid (and fat and flavor)and the dish will be dry. This dish was pretty good. The meat reminded me of meatloaf with a side of potatoes and beans in sauce. Hands on time was about 5 minutes(use a mandoline for the potatoes and onions and it's even faster. My whole family liked it and ate it. My 5 yr old said "this is nice and warm for a cold day" and my 15 yr old said it was different but good. Not the healthiest dish but it sure was easy! I would make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2005
Very good. Family really enjoyed it.It is excellent with a big dollup of sour cream on top. Next time will add more garlic and cheese. May also substitue sirloin tips for the meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2005
Very good! I used ground turkey, which I browned and seasoned, and cubed potatoes which I had already cut but not used for another meal. I used a whole jar of plain spaghetti sauce since I like things saucy. I also seasoned the sauce before pouring it on. We sprinkled each serving with cheese. This recipe will definitely make it into our regular rotation. Maybe next time I will add fresh or canned tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2005
i really like this recipe as does my family - hubby, teen, picky little girl and all. I've made it a few times and I always brown the meat first with spices. If you like a lot of sauce, plan on using 2 cans of tomato soup. Recipe needs plenty of salt, and the soup/beans will dry out if you uncover it as directed. Plan on cooking it the FULL time, or a little over
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Ciudad De México, Distrito Federal, Mexico
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2005
Family hit! I did brown the beef down with garlic, oregeno and basil and then cooked the dish for 1/2 hour or so. It does need to be stirred up half way through to fully cook the potatoes, though. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2005
Although it was easy to make, I found it needing more flavor. I won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2004
This is an excellent recipe, and very versatile. My only suggestions are: 1.Spice the meat while you are browning it, and 2.Use two cans of tomato soup. One can just cannot cover everything. My family loves this recipe and we enjoy any leftovers (I make more so there can be leftovers).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2004
Sorry, not really that great.. needs flavorings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beckymc

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2004
This was wonderful..my family loved it. I did cook the meat first. Next time I will try a different soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Stuffed Peppers

See how to make delicious, beefy stuffed bell peppers.

Grandma VanDoren’s White Bread

Mmm, delicious homemade bread just like grandma used to make.

Shepherd's Pie VI

See how to make a simple one-pot meal the family will crave.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States