Grandma Flo's Shipwreck Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2005
Very good. Family really enjoyed it.It is excellent with a big dollup of sour cream on top. Next time will add more garlic and cheese. May also substitue sirloin tips for the meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2005
Very good! I used ground turkey, which I browned and seasoned, and cubed potatoes which I had already cut but not used for another meal. I used a whole jar of plain spaghetti sauce since I like things saucy. I also seasoned the sauce before pouring it on. We sprinkled each serving with cheese. This recipe will definitely make it into our regular rotation. Maybe next time I will add fresh or canned tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2005
i really like this recipe as does my family - hubby, teen, picky little girl and all. I've made it a few times and I always brown the meat first with spices. If you like a lot of sauce, plan on using 2 cans of tomato soup. Recipe needs plenty of salt, and the soup/beans will dry out if you uncover it as directed. Plan on cooking it the FULL time, or a little over
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Ciudad De México, Distrito Federal, Mexico
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2005
Family hit! I did brown the beef down with garlic, oregeno and basil and then cooked the dish for 1/2 hour or so. It does need to be stirred up half way through to fully cook the potatoes, though. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2005
Although it was easy to make, I found it needing more flavor. I won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2004
This is an excellent recipe, and very versatile. My only suggestions are: 1.Spice the meat while you are browning it, and 2.Use two cans of tomato soup. One can just cannot cover everything. My family loves this recipe and we enjoy any leftovers (I make more so there can be leftovers).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2004
Sorry, not really that great.. needs flavorings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beckymc

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2004
This was wonderful..my family loved it. I did cook the meat first. Next time I will try a different soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2004
Needs more to it. Family ate it, but not a favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Windsor, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2004
I made so many changes to this that it was barely the original recipe, but with my changes, it was definitely a "5." I used Italian sausage instead of ground beef; Northern white beans instead of kidney beans; and baked potato soup with bacon instead of tomato soup. I browned the Italian sausage before baking and only baked it for 35 to 40 minutes. It was absolutely delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma VanDoren’s White Bread

Mmm, delicious homemade bread just like grandma used to make.

Stuffed Peppers

See how to make delicious, beefy stuffed bell peppers.

Shepherd's Pie VI

See how to make a simple one-pot meal the family will crave.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States