Grandma Flo's Shipwreck Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2007
TRY THIS: For those who found the results a bit dry or lacking a bit of "umph", consider using a can of plain BAKED BEANS rather than the kidney beans. That's how my mom makes it, and it really juices up the dish and rounds out the flavor. I would also recommend seasoning the potatoes and meat a little, but the beauty of this recipe should definitely remain in its simplicity.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2007
This recipe is a bit plain, but it is good and very easy to make. The husband does not generally remember the names of any recipe I cook, but he knows this one and becomes a very happy camper when I tell him we are having it for dinner. Thanks for sharing :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2007
From reading all the other reviews I knew I'd have to make several changes to what appears to be a bland and fairly dry casserole. Once I did that it was a FANTASTIC recipe for a quick dinner that holds well in the refrigerator. It came out as a cross between chili and stew that my husband fell in love with. I made these additions/changes... I pre-cooked the ground beef with additional onion and seasonings. I cubed the potatoes, coarse-chopped the onion (using a large one), added 1/2 t. Penzeys bay leaf seasoning, 1 t. Morton's Natures Season, one rounded tablespoon of jarred minced garlic in liquid (the type from the produce dept.) and 2 8-ounce cans of tomato sauce. I also mixed everything instead of layering so the flavors would blend. I used a 3-quart casserole and baked it covered for 75 minutes. I then uncovered it, topped it with 4 oz. of shredded cheese and baked for an additional 10-15 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by janisko

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2006
I don't get it, I followed the recipe exactly, but mine was awful. It came out really dry and none of the flavors of the layers mingled, we all voted to toss this and have a sandwich instead. I was very disappointed as it all sounded as if it would very delicious and so simple. Yuck! Sorry :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2006
This is very yummy. I took suggestions from other reviews- I seasoned and browned the ground beef. I also sauteed the onions with the beef. I then put the kidney beans and the soup in with the meat. I layered the potatoes with the meat/soup mixture. I baked it covered for 1 hour and then uncovered it and sprinkled shredded cheddar/jack cheese blend over the top. The potatoes were overdone so, next time I won't cook it as long. The dish is really tasty and I will definately make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2006
My family liked this pretty well. It was easy to make. I reduced the amount of onion, added some garlic and a little bit of catsup to suit our tastes. Not bad at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Odell, Illinois, USA
Living In: Marseilles, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2006
I made this as is. I believe in rating a recipe, not rating my "fix" of a recipe. It was nothing exciting, bordering on boring. One thing, though, is that it is super easy because almost nothing needs done ahead except slicing potatoes (and I almost never peel them first). It might be a good basis to use to create some other things, but in and of itself, it's boring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erimess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2006
My husband and I loved this. It was so easy and quick to prepare and tasted delicious right out of the oven and as leftovers for lunch the next day. The only change I did was to add some garlic salt and about 1/2 t. sugar to the mix when salting and peppering it. Thanks for the recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DEBWALTER

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Laramie, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Cheyenne, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2005
The recipe made as-is would probably be pretty plain and salty. However, on the advice of reviewers, I made some changes. I did around 22 oz. of spaghetti sauce instead of tomato soup, I reduced the salt to 1/2 tsp total and that was fine. I browned the meat first because I did not want all that grease in my meal, and I spiced the meat with white pepper, oregano and thyme while browning. I cooked it covered for one hour and only 20 minutes uncovered because I was using red potatoes and they cook faster. Overall, this was a lot better than I thought it was going to be, and even though it takes awhile to cook, it was pretty easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sola

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2005
I just had to make this recipe after reading all the reviews! To prevent the dish from being dry, follow my suggestions. Using a 10" round 2.5 qt casserole I layered thinly sliced potatoes, some salt, RAW ground sirloin, some salt, pepper and garlic powder, thinly sliced onion, the well drained and rinsed kidney beans and then topped it with the tomato soup. I covered the casserole with aluminum foil and baked it at 375 for one hour. I then took off the foil for 30 minutes and continued to bake it. Maybe because round is leaner than beef, it really is not necessary to uncover this dish. The liquid starts to evaporate and the beans will dry out. If you brown the beef first, it removes the cooking liquid (and fat and flavor)and the dish will be dry. This dish was pretty good. The meat reminded me of meatloaf with a side of potatoes and beans in sauce. Hands on time was about 5 minutes(use a mandoline for the potatoes and onions and it's even faster. My whole family liked it and ate it. My 5 yr old said "this is nice and warm for a cold day" and my 15 yr old said it was different but good. Not the healthiest dish but it sure was easy! I would make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma VanDoren’s White Bread

Mmm, delicious homemade bread just like grandma used to make.

Stuffed Peppers

See how to make delicious, beefy stuffed bell peppers.

Shepherd's Pie VI

See how to make a simple one-pot meal the family will crave.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States