Grandma Emma's Spice Loaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 14, 2006
This is a GREAT spice bread!! I've found that it's also a wonderful base recipe that be easily personalized. I made it using applesauce instead of shortening, 1/c. brown sugar instead of 1 c. white, substituted half the flour with whole wheat flour, and added about 3/4 cup of rolled oats. I also threw in chopped candied ginger in addition to the raisins!! Whooooo............it was gone in a flash, and my guys don't know they're getting fiber!! Definitely will keep making this one!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb Smith Dooley

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2001
Delicious, lightly spiced bread. It baked perfectly into a beautiful dark loaf. Definetely a new favourite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2004
This is just a great fool proof recipe. It has become a standard in my holiday baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2000
very dark and flavorfull. I even added a few tablespoons of flax seed to add a bit more nutrition to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lenihan5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2010
I added 2 chopped green apples and made it in 9x9 pan really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2009
Made this today and did a few changes as others did. Used 1/4 cup each butter and shortening, 1/2 cup each white and brown sugar, 1 cup each white and wheat flour, added about 1/2 to 3/4 cups oats. it would have been just great exactly as per recipe too. Only suggestion would be to add a little more raisins. Definitely a keeper. Thanks Marsha
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2014
EXCELLENT....!!!!I didn't have raisins...but I did added an orange glaze..... nice balance... I totally recommend..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2014
Made this using some tips from comments. Added a little extra spice, half the sugar & some applesauce with less oil. More raisins & more nuts(pecans). Used three little tins instead of larger loaf pan. Otherwise followed the recipe. Absolutely delicious & I will definitely make again!!! Wonderful texture & I can taste the coffee, maybe because know it's in there!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tobi Anderson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2011
The flavor is good, but we thought it was dry in texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
This was good and very moist but I thought it could use more spice and way more craisins (used craisins instead). Next time I will up the spices and the craisins and see how it comes out. Delicious warm with butter though. Not a toss out recipe but a retry! It has potential
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lusby, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Grandma Johnson’s Scones

See how to make top-rated and time-tested scones.

Poppy Seed Bread with Glaze

See how to make a sweet poppy-seed bread with almond and orange flavors.

Buttermilk Pancakes II

Using buttermilk gives these pancakes a nice tang and makes them fluffy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States