Grandma Emma's Spice Loaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2000
very dark and flavorfull. I even added a few tablespoons of flax seed to add a bit more nutrition to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lenihan5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2001
Delicious, lightly spiced bread. It baked perfectly into a beautiful dark loaf. Definetely a new favourite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2004
This is just a great fool proof recipe. It has become a standard in my holiday baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2006
This is a GREAT spice bread!! I've found that it's also a wonderful base recipe that be easily personalized. I made it using applesauce instead of shortening, 1/c. brown sugar instead of 1 c. white, substituted half the flour with whole wheat flour, and added about 3/4 cup of rolled oats. I also threw in chopped candied ginger in addition to the raisins!! Whooooo............it was gone in a flash, and my guys don't know they're getting fiber!! Definitely will keep making this one!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb Smith Dooley

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2006
Just ok. Had a nice spice, could not taste the coffee. The texture was rather crumbly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kilgore, Texas, USA
Living In: Zimmerman, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2008
I took the advice of another review and used applesauce instead of shortening, added oats, used 1/2 whole wheat flour, 1/2 a/p flour and also added chocolate chips instead of raisins and nuts. Somewhat good for you and yet my husband will eat it(choc chips)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: La Puente, California, USA
Living In: Mason, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2009
Very tasty, and smells amazing while baking! A new favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2009
Made this today and did a few changes as others did. Used 1/4 cup each butter and shortening, 1/2 cup each white and brown sugar, 1 cup each white and wheat flour, added about 1/2 to 3/4 cups oats. it would have been just great exactly as per recipe too. Only suggestion would be to add a little more raisins. Definitely a keeper. Thanks Marsha
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2010
I added 2 chopped green apples and made it in 9x9 pan really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
This was good and very moist but I thought it could use more spice and way more craisins (used craisins instead). Next time I will up the spices and the craisins and see how it comes out. Delicious warm with butter though. Not a toss out recipe but a retry! It has potential
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lusby, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Grandma Johnson’s Scones

See how to make top-rated and time-tested scones.

Buttermilk Pancakes II

Using buttermilk gives these pancakes a nice tang and makes them fluffy.

Easy Pancakes

See how to make quick-and-easy pancakes from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States