Grandma Emma's Spice Loaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 14, 2006
This is a GREAT spice bread!! I've found that it's also a wonderful base recipe that be easily personalized. I made it using applesauce instead of shortening, 1/c. brown sugar instead of 1 c. white, substituted half the flour with whole wheat flour, and added about 3/4 cup of rolled oats. I also threw in chopped candied ginger in addition to the raisins!! Whooooo............it was gone in a flash, and my guys don't know they're getting fiber!! Definitely will keep making this one!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb Smith Dooley

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2001
Delicious, lightly spiced bread. It baked perfectly into a beautiful dark loaf. Definetely a new favourite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2004
This is just a great fool proof recipe. It has become a standard in my holiday baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2000
very dark and flavorfull. I even added a few tablespoons of flax seed to add a bit more nutrition to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lenihan5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2010
I added 2 chopped green apples and made it in 9x9 pan really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2009
Made this today and did a few changes as others did. Used 1/4 cup each butter and shortening, 1/2 cup each white and brown sugar, 1 cup each white and wheat flour, added about 1/2 to 3/4 cups oats. it would have been just great exactly as per recipe too. Only suggestion would be to add a little more raisins. Definitely a keeper. Thanks Marsha
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2014
EXCELLENT....!!!!I didn't have raisins...but I did added an orange glaze..... nice balance... I totally recommend..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2014
Made this using some tips from comments. Added a little extra spice, half the sugar & some applesauce with less oil. More raisins & more nuts(pecans). Used three little tins instead of larger loaf pan. Otherwise followed the recipe. Absolutely delicious & I will definitely make again!!! Wonderful texture & I can taste the coffee, maybe because know it's in there!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tobi Anderson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2011
The flavor is good, but we thought it was dry in texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
This was good and very moist but I thought it could use more spice and way more craisins (used craisins instead). Next time I will up the spices and the craisins and see how it comes out. Delicious warm with butter though. Not a toss out recipe but a retry! It has potential
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lusby, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Grandma Johnson’s Scones

See how to make top-rated and time-tested scones.

Poppy Seed Bread with Glaze

See how to make a sweet poppy-seed bread with almond and orange flavors.

Buttermilk Pancakes II

Using buttermilk gives these pancakes a nice tang and makes them fluffy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States