Grandma Emma's Spice Loaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2000
very dark and flavorfull. I even added a few tablespoons of flax seed to add a bit more nutrition to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lenihan5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2001
Delicious, lightly spiced bread. It baked perfectly into a beautiful dark loaf. Definetely a new favourite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2004
This is just a great fool proof recipe. It has become a standard in my holiday baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2006
This is a GREAT spice bread!! I've found that it's also a wonderful base recipe that be easily personalized. I made it using applesauce instead of shortening, 1/c. brown sugar instead of 1 c. white, substituted half the flour with whole wheat flour, and added about 3/4 cup of rolled oats. I also threw in chopped candied ginger in addition to the raisins!! Whooooo............it was gone in a flash, and my guys don't know they're getting fiber!! Definitely will keep making this one!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb Smith Dooley

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2006
Just ok. Had a nice spice, could not taste the coffee. The texture was rather crumbly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kilgore, Texas, USA
Living In: Zimmerman, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2008
I took the advice of another review and used applesauce instead of shortening, added oats, used 1/2 whole wheat flour, 1/2 a/p flour and also added chocolate chips instead of raisins and nuts. Somewhat good for you and yet my husband will eat it(choc chips)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: La Puente, California, USA
Living In: Mason, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2009
Very tasty, and smells amazing while baking! A new favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2009
Made this today and did a few changes as others did. Used 1/4 cup each butter and shortening, 1/2 cup each white and brown sugar, 1 cup each white and wheat flour, added about 1/2 to 3/4 cups oats. it would have been just great exactly as per recipe too. Only suggestion would be to add a little more raisins. Definitely a keeper. Thanks Marsha
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2010
I added 2 chopped green apples and made it in 9x9 pan really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
This was good and very moist but I thought it could use more spice and way more craisins (used craisins instead). Next time I will up the spices and the craisins and see how it comes out. Delicious warm with butter though. Not a toss out recipe but a retry! It has potential
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lusby, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Grandma Johnson’s Scones

See how to make top-rated and time-tested scones.

Buttermilk Pancakes II

Using buttermilk gives these pancakes a nice tang and makes them fluffy.

Easy Pancakes

See how to make quick-and-easy pancakes from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States