Grandma Elaine's Unstuffed Sweet and Sour Cabbage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2007
I too grew up with this recipe. It is truly wonderful and worth the time. It was always a special occasion at our house when mom made this. However, I have never tried the brown sugar. Sounds yummy. I prefer to use splenda or sweet n low instead of any sugar and leave everything as the original recipe states. Mom used to make a separate pot like this for my dad who was diabetic and it too is fabulous. Pete's sister.... :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jalexandropoulos
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2007
This is very good. It reminds me of something my Greek mother in law whom lives in Germany would make. I left out the raisins and only used half of the brown sugar. I would be interested in the original recipe. Thanks for a great hearty recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jalexandropoulos

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sitka, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2007
Very good, thanks for the recipe. I cooked the meatballs in the oven so the grease didn't go into the dish and I left out the raisins and didn't use all the brown sugar. Also, I used V8 for the broth, I didn't have any tomato paste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2007
This is the original recipe, except I substituted BROWN SUGAR for the White Sugar. Tastes vary, but if leave out ingredients, you don't get the full flavor effect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Daddy Pete

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2007
Hmmm...this recipe is pretty good. I am not sure it is worth 2.5 hours cooking time good though! According to one review, it tastes even better the next day. We'll see what tomorrow holds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Port Republic, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2008
This is time consuming, but really good. And yes, it does taste even better the next day if you can salvage any leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2008
This is a fantastic recipe! I used more rice than called for (1 cup brown instant rice), and I cooked it before adding to the meat mixture. The meal is not too sweet (my husband can't handle sweet with savory), and has wonderful flavor! I omitted the raisins (see above reason!!!) Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2008
Having had mediocre cabbage rolls this past weekend, I was craving something good. This was delicious! The only reason I gave it 4 stars was because it took a while. But, it was worth it. The stew was very flavorful, so much so that my 4 year old says he likes cabbage now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweetascandice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2008
This is the first recipe I have done a review on. I have made this multiple times and it is awesome. I made it as written. Don't leave out the ingredients you add at the end. They are what makes this recipes flavor so unique.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: North Tonawanda, New York, USA
Living In: Williamsville, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2008
I will never make cabbage rolls again. I have rarely heard my husband rave as much or as often as he does about this recipe. I make only a couple of changes. I use regular brown rice in the meatballs, and use a teaspoon of blackstrap molasses in evaporated cane juice in place of the brown sugar. I doubled this because I have a family of 11, and I usually think when it says "serves 10" they don't mean 10 of my kids! In this case, though, the recipe is abundant. I made it in a big Nesco roaster, and it was fabulous. A few kids would have preferred it without raisins, but I think the flavor is important. Fabulous recipe! I am so thankful to have it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WINDYMOM

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cumberland, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cabbage Roll Casserole

See how to make an easy, hearty, beef and cabbage casserole.

Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup

See how to make a simple cabbage soup with ground beef and veggies.

How to Make Corned Beef and Cabbage

See how to make the official meal of St. Patrick’s Day.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States