Grandma Elaine's Unstuffed Sweet and Sour Cabbage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
Very easy and tasty. I used a bag of cole slaw mix instead of chopping the cabbage. I also replaced the raisin with a cup of prunes. And to make it the way my family likes it, I crumbled 10 ginger snaps in with the lemon juice, honey and sugar, which gives it a zing and helps thicken the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
I wouldn't use this again. I thought the meatballs were hard and the recipe was time consuming. I prefer the ease and taste of the unstuffed cabbage recipe that is all thrown into a 9x13 pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2010
Really amazing and easy to make - takes awhile but most of the time is spent simmering in the pot. Reminds me of the cabbage rolls I grew up with!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2010
We really liked this. I adjusted this recipe to use 5lbs of ground beef, so I made a LOT of it. I took it easy on the salt and really easy on the sugar. This would have been way too sweet for us as written, so be sure to sweeten it to your taste. The lemon and raisins are a fantastic addition. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2010
Delicious..Did use turkey to be healthier..added bread crumbs instead of rice to the meat along with herbs for more flavor..baked the meatballs first then added to the stew..Will make again for sure
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2010
THis is really good. It takes a few hours to prepare but it is really worth it. There is a nice balance between the sour lemon juice and the brown sugar and honey. I highly recomend this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2010
I loved this reciepe! Making it tonigh but, instead of using ground beef, I'm using ground turkey to make it a really low-fat meal. Will report back and let everyone know if it was just as good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2009
OH Chef Daddy Pete...all I can say is yumm yumm yumm! What a wonderful recipe and its so so easy..The only things I did different is added more rice, some garlic powder to the sauce and meat, and I sweetened and soured the tomato mix before I put in the cabbage so that the flavors would soak into the cabbage..I just made this the other day and I am dying to make it again!!! Make this tonight for dinner You will love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eddievedderandme

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
Loved this dish! It's a lot easier than making cabbage rolls. I used ground venison instead of ground beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Akron, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2009
Exactly what I was looking for, flavor of the sauce is excellent. Meatballs could use more spice they were a little bland. Next time I'm adding a little garlic, coriander and cloves. I omitted the raisins, personal taste don't like them in this dish. I halved the recipe and substituted 2 packets of splenda for the sugar, but used the honey. YUM This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lomita, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cabbage Roll Casserole

See how to make an easy, hearty, beef and cabbage casserole.

Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup

See how to make a simple cabbage soup with ground beef and veggies.

How to Make Corned Beef and Cabbage

See how to make the official meal of St. Patrick’s Day.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States