Grandma Elaine's Unstuffed Sweet and Sour Cabbage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2010
THis is really good. It takes a few hours to prepare but it is really worth it. There is a nice balance between the sour lemon juice and the brown sugar and honey. I highly recomend this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2010
I loved this reciepe! Making it tonigh but, instead of using ground beef, I'm using ground turkey to make it a really low-fat meal. Will report back and let everyone know if it was just as good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2009
OH Chef Daddy Pete...all I can say is yumm yumm yumm! What a wonderful recipe and its so so easy..The only things I did different is added more rice, some garlic powder to the sauce and meat, and I sweetened and soured the tomato mix before I put in the cabbage so that the flavors would soak into the cabbage..I just made this the other day and I am dying to make it again!!! Make this tonight for dinner You will love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eddievedderandme

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
Loved this dish! It's a lot easier than making cabbage rolls. I used ground venison instead of ground beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Akron, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2009
Exactly what I was looking for, flavor of the sauce is excellent. Meatballs could use more spice they were a little bland. Next time I'm adding a little garlic, coriander and cloves. I omitted the raisins, personal taste don't like them in this dish. I halved the recipe and substituted 2 packets of splenda for the sugar, but used the honey. YUM This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lomita, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2008
I will never make cabbage rolls again. I have rarely heard my husband rave as much or as often as he does about this recipe. I make only a couple of changes. I use regular brown rice in the meatballs, and use a teaspoon of blackstrap molasses in evaporated cane juice in place of the brown sugar. I doubled this because I have a family of 11, and I usually think when it says "serves 10" they don't mean 10 of my kids! In this case, though, the recipe is abundant. I made it in a big Nesco roaster, and it was fabulous. A few kids would have preferred it without raisins, but I think the flavor is important. Fabulous recipe! I am so thankful to have it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WINDYMOM

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cumberland, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2008
This is the first recipe I have done a review on. I have made this multiple times and it is awesome. I made it as written. Don't leave out the ingredients you add at the end. They are what makes this recipes flavor so unique.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: North Tonawanda, New York, USA
Living In: Williamsville, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2008
Having had mediocre cabbage rolls this past weekend, I was craving something good. This was delicious! The only reason I gave it 4 stars was because it took a while. But, it was worth it. The stew was very flavorful, so much so that my 4 year old says he likes cabbage now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweetascandice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2008
This is a fantastic recipe! I used more rice than called for (1 cup brown instant rice), and I cooked it before adding to the meat mixture. The meal is not too sweet (my husband can't handle sweet with savory), and has wonderful flavor! I omitted the raisins (see above reason!!!) Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2008
This is time consuming, but really good. And yes, it does taste even better the next day if you can salvage any leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cabbage Roll Casserole

See how to make an easy, hearty, beef and cabbage casserole.

Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup

See how to make a simple cabbage soup with ground beef and veggies.

How to Cook Corned Beef and Cabbage

Watch how to make this traditional St. Patrick’s Day dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States