Grandma Elaine's Unstuffed Sweet and Sour Cabbage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2014
This dish is so full of flavor. Delicious! I did leave out the raisins, but otherwise followed the recipe. Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lockport, New York, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
To reduce cooking time and give more flavour to the cabbage: Boil the chopped cabbage in salt water just until all denté (do not overcook). Leave cabbage separate from the other ingredients. I used a mix of tomato soup/tomato sauce. Cook the onions with the hamburg. Mix remaining ingredients, except cabbage, with the hamburg. Add spices to taste. I layered as follows: Cabbage by itself in the bottom of the pan; top with the other ingredients; top with cheese and broil in the oven until cheese is bubbling. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2014
I made this without the raisins and with Costco frozen meatballs to cut down on time. Delicious, healthy (I didn't use a ton of meatballs), and, like the description says, it freezes really well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
This is a recipe that I crave!! I've made it a few times. It's perfect for a cold winter day. I precook rice and add more than the recipe calls for. Or I might serve the dish over rice. Sometimes I form meatballs, other times I just saute the meat & keep it ground. The recipe is quite versatile to "play with" the structure. Keep the proportions of sweet & sour the same, that's what makes it so flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RIELLA

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
Different. Skipped the raisins and reduced the sweet components. If I made this again wouldn't add the rice to the meat balls but instead serve the rest of the dish over it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RMSR

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
Made as suggested, added ground nutmeg (little) everyone liked! Nice and easy. Served overbrown rice
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2012
This was absolutely wonderful. I have the MOST picky eaters as kids and one who detests cabbage, this entire pot was eaten tonight!! My family has asked that this not be a one time meal. Was definitely worth the long cook time as it filled the apartment with such a delightful aroma, everyone was could not wait for it to be done to try it. Great recipe!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
This recipe is delicious, only thing I added was a beer because it was a little thick. Shared the soup with my picky relatives and they loved it. Thank you for sharing this, I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2012
I thought my grandma's secret recipe was gone for good, but I swear this is it. Absolutely delicious, and well worth the cooking time. The only changes I made were using regular raisins instead of golden ones, and using white sugar and molasses because I was out of brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
I thought that this was an excellent recipe and loved the blend of flavors. I left out the raisins because we don't like them but it was still excellent. Also because I don't have time or patience to make meatballs, I used prepared frozen meatballs so the recipe came together in a snap. We served it over brown rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cabbage Roll Casserole

See how to make an easy, hearty, beef and cabbage casserole.

Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup

See how to make a simple cabbage soup with ground beef and veggies.

How to Make Corned Beef and Cabbage

See how to make the official meal of St. Patrick’s Day.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States