Grandma Covington's Cheese Apple Pie Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2006
I made this awhile ago and didn't review it. I thought it was really good---I love the tastes of apple pie and cheese together! I used another recipe from this site---Grandma Ople's apple pie I think it was. Very good combination! Thanks for the post!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patrick Luce

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belton, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2007
My family has long had a slice of Cheddar on top of their pie, so I was excited when I found this recipe. It was a BIG hit, with my husband (the pie crust fanatic) and my mom (first time they've ever agreed on ANYTHING). It is very crumbly and difficult to handle though, so good luck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Realmom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2007
Great taste! Though it's very crumbly and difficult to roll out. Roll out as best you can, but it's easier to press it into the pie tin rather than roll it out to perfection. Double the recipe if making a top crust as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2007
My teenage daughter made this recipe last year and had such compliments that she chose to make it again. She made the crust in a food processor and chilled the shortening in the freezer for a few minutes and it came together beautifully. Not much crumbling for her. Her grandfather has enjoyed cheddar cheese on his apple pie for years and this was a new and enjoyable twist to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by nicholle s
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2008
This pie crust was exactly what I was looking for. I used it to make an apple pie and it turned out fantastic. Everyone wanted to try it and everyone loved it; even the skeptics. It was a bit crumbly to work with. i think that gives it a rustic quality. I made an extra doughball to make chicken pot pies one night. wish me luck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nicholle s

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Norfolk, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2009
Great Crust. I used it for a shepherds pie, because my husband refuses to try anything new with his apple pie. I'll be sure to sneak it in someday though. The crust was very difficult. I was in a rush so I ended it up pressing the dough into the pie tin which worked well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cocaire

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2009
I was not a huge fan of the cornmeal in this pie crust. It came together really well for me, and I will try it again without the cornmeal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Willow Grove, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Montrose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2010
Made as written. This crust is not my cup of tea. First, I did not like the texture of the cornmeal at all. It was crunchy, which I find odd in a pie crust. Second, it was difficult to keep together. I did what someone else suggested and refridgerated for over an hour and still it fell apart. I had to make a crosshatched pattern because one simply can not roll this dough out. I did push it down on the bottom of the pan. It browned nicely and fluffed up. Lastly, I did not like the taste. I think I would prefer something more buttery
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ginger Lee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Simi Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
maybe I did it wrong, but the crust came out way too thick for my taste. It was hard to roll out without crumbing... Maybe I should have just kept adding water, but I had already added extra... Good flavor though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Apple Pie by Grandma Ople

Learn how to make Grandma Ople's famous apple pie.

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

Apple & Cheddar Cheese Soufflés

A feather-light soufflé with caramelized apples and sharp Cheddar.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States