Grandma Cornish's Whole Wheat Potato Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2012
This is the best 100% Whole Wheat Bread I have ever made and I've been baking Bread for a long time. For those who think there is not enough salt, read the recipe again salt is added in twice. I say this because I forgot to add the second time once, yuck. Also, I use a tablespoon of plain instant mashed Potatoes mixed with the water.If you need to fool your family try using white whole wheat flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2012
What a great recipe!! I've been playing with wholemeal bread and this one is a winner!!! I halved this and I'm glad I did as it wouldn't have fitted my bowl!! I used all whey from my soft cheese making and reduced the sugar to 1 tbls. I also used the whey straight from the fridge and left my dough to prove overnight in my cool scullery. Fantastic!!! I made one two pound loaf and two one pound loaves from half the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Baking Nana
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2011
This makes a LOT of bread dough. Do NOT attempt to use a Kitchen Aid to mix this. Based on other reviews I was hesitant to use the entire amount of liquid. Indeed I started out with 4 cups warm milk & 2 cups of potato water - then adjusted the amount of flour to achieve the desired dough consistancy. Following the suggestion of the recipe submitter and used 1/3 cup honey and 1/3 cup oil. For a more experienced bread baker this recipe is fine - however the recipe itself is rather poorly written but does produce excellent 100 % Whole Wheat bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baking Nana

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2010
I am not a baker. This turned out heavy and yeasty. I measured precisely, couldn't knead the dough because it was so sticky so I added a little more flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2010
This is GREAT. I've been making this for years. Add Vital Wheat Gluten (can be found in grocery stores) per pkg. directions to get a easier to work with dough and more tender bread. It makes a LOT and I have to put it into my mixer in batches. It takes most of a day for me to make this recipe, it's great for gifts, freezes well after it's baked and my family loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maria Parrish

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2006
Wow - this makes a lot of bread - way too much - b/c I had such a hard time working with so much dough - and i had to add much more flour than called for (almost half a kilo) and it took like all day to bake - i have a little oven and I couldn't do all four loaves at once - and my oh my how they were big loaves -- could easily have made 6 regular size loaves... hmm, the taste and texure is mediocre, dense, and not tasty at all... I will definitely not be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SugarKitty

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minden, Nevada, USA
Living In: Eindhoven, Noord-Brabant, Netherlands
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2006
This was excellent. I made half the amount and used a cup of oatmeal and two cups of white flour in place of three cups of the whole wheat. It was wonderful and soft. I will make it often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2005
This recipe will be easier if you have a left over potato you could use instead of cooking one just for the recipe. The bread tasted great fresh out of the oven, but then it got so dry and crumbly that I couldn't use it for sandwiches or toast. I will probably try it one more time just in case I missed something last time. However, if it turns out the same, I'm going to have to look for a new recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2004
I've baked bread for years, and this sounded really good, but it was a sticky mess after adding the flour. I ended up adding almost 3 more cups of flour before I could even knead it. Won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Marshall, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2004
I submitted this recipe and have made improvements on the original. I now use 1/3 cup of honey and 1/3 cup of oil instead of the sugar and shortening. Sometimes I use water that I have drained off potatoes that I have cooked the night before for dinner, no need to actually add the potato to the recipe, only the potato water; it is what helps keep the whole wheat bread lighter. I also now use instant yeast and just mix it in with the flour. Only need two risings, one initial and then one after you form the loaves and place in the bread pans. The changes to the recipe make it healthier and faster. Happy bread baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Chef John’s Whole Wheat Ciabatta

See how to make a delicious whole-wheat version of classic ciabatta bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States