Grandma Carol's Pumpkin Roll Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
I am the one who submitted this recipe. AR changed the instructions from my original recipe which caused the problems you had CONNIE-O. I really wish they would leave the instructions as I had written them. The batter is baked in ONE 12x17 jelly roll pan and prepared as usual. Do not use two towels as it states. After your Pumpkin Roll is finished, cut in half to make 2 rolls (or I guess you could leave it as one long roll). But bake the batter in only ONE pan. It really is an excellent recipe with these changes back to my original version.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SusieQ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Henryetta, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Owasso, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2013
I have used this same recipe for years and love it! A couple of times, I have had a problem with the cake cracking a little as I've unrolled it from the towel (which was generously sprinkled with powdered sugar). Can someone tell me what I did wrong or have a suggestion to avoid this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2013
This recipe reminded me so much of my grandmother's pumpkin roll recipe. It was really light and fluffy, and not dry at all. I brought it to work a while back and everyone loved it. Definitely a keeper!.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kaseygirl
Home Town: Midlothian, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
I had never made a pumpkin roll before but this was soooo easy and turned out perfect! I missed out the pecans due to a nut allergy in our party but still was absolutely yummy (trimmed the ends for presentation purposes of course!) and looks great, will be a lovely addition to our thanksgiving dinner tomorrow :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2013
A colleague at work brought this and it was "to die for"! She told me where to get the recipe. I'll use the original submission to get the best results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2012
There is something seriously wrong with the way this recipe is written. Comparing it to other pumpkin roll recipes on this site, the amount of ingredients make just ONE roll. I made half a recipe and used one pan. It was waaaaaaaay over cooked and so thin that it was brittle and cracked. Sorry SusieQ to have to give is such a bad review but if it were written for 1 cake I think it would be fine. And thanks to the recipeeps who helped me figure out what went wrong. FYI, I used a 10 x 15 Farberware jelly roll pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2014
This is a very good recipe! All the others call for lemon juice which makes it more on the rubbery side but this one is excellent, cake like with great flavor. This will be the only one I'll ever use. Thanks for posting the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2013
I made it and it reminded me of my childhood. I'll make this again and already recommended it to friends and family. =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Medina, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KGora
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2013
This reminded me of a recipe I've been using for years. I used a slightly smaller pan, 10 x 15, and sprayed the parchment with non-stick spray instead of using butter and then lightly dusted with flour. Followed the rest as directed except I let the cake cool completely before adding the filling. This doesn't take long to bake, each oven may be different - mine seems to run a little on the warm side so I baked until the cake sprung back when I touched it, which was close to the 10 minutes suggested. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KGora

Cooking Level: Intermediate



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Granny Kat’s Pumpkin Roll

See how to make a sweetly spicy 5-star pumpkin roll cake.

Pumpkin Roll II

This cake is dense, moist, and rich with pumpkin flavor.

Pumpkin Roll Cake

Watch and learn how to make a holiday-favorite Pumpkin Roll Cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States