Grandma Carlson's Turkey Pot Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2011
Super good! I used ground turkey instead and it seemed to double the recipe. However, I just doubled the pie crust, used a bigger pan and it worked out great. It's even better the next day:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2011
I followed the directions very closely, although I did do a few things differently. The only reason was because of how much of the particular ingredients I had on hand...certainly nothing against Grandma Carlson! On the contrary, I think a recipe that allows room for tinkering/improvising and still turns out great is a keeper. This one definitely is. I cooked the onion a bit longer than 8 minutes, but the onion I used was BIG. I used olive oil to cook in rather than butter, and one package of ground turkey. Personally, I think turkey can go a little bland so when I was cooking it I added a couple small cloves of minced garlic and a little salt. I used vegetable broth rather than chicken broth, and frozen peas & corn rather than canned. I added the frozen vegetables the same time that I added the broth. It seemed like a lot of filling, and I didn't think this would fit into a pie pan, so I baked it in a deeper Pyrex casserole dish. After reducing the heat to 350, I added 10 minutes extra baking time since the casserole dish was deeper than a typical pie pan. The result was amazing, and my husband has already asked me to make it again. I would have taken a picture, but it didn't last long at my house. ;D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emigh

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2012
This dish is sooooooo yummy!!! I have tried lots of recipes on here and this is the first one that I actually felt compelled to leave a review about! I only made a few changes, like I added a little garlic when I was sautee-ing the veggies, I used peas instead of green beans and instead of using cream of mushroom soup I used cream of celery since that's all I had on hand. My kids gobbled it up and my husband raved about it all night! Awesome recipe for leftover turkey or chicken! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
This is a fantastic recipe! I did modify the recipe just a bit to use most of my Thanksgiving leftovers however. Instead of flouring and browning the turkey, I added the turkey to the skillet and then I used my leftover gravy and topped it off to 2 cups with chicken broth. My recipe probably was a bit thicker because of this, but dang was it good! Thanks for the great idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by airmaleaz

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kalispell, Montana, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2012
I found this to use up all the random items in my fridge--success! I even had my in-laws for dinner and EVERYONE (including young kids) really loved it. The only problem I had was that there was only one slice left for leftovers! :-(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2012
Delicious! I followed the recipe exactly, but divided the pastry dough into 5 and used them only as "tops" to mini pie tins... I equally divided the filling into 5 pie tins and covered each tin with pastry dough. This kept it healthier, and each member of my family could enjoy their own pie. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2012
This was great. I did leave out the canned green beans and corn (didn't have on hand) but added mushrooms and garlic. Freezes well too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
This is delicious! I made these changes: I had leftover phyllo pastry which I used instead of the dough. This was good but I'm sure pastry dough would be equally delicious. I chopped up a large clove of garlic to saute with the onions and celery and I used leftover cooked carrots from Christmas dinner. I increased the turkey to three cups and the flour to three tablespoons - because I had lots of meat and we like to eat meat :) I used peas instead of beans and leftover gravy instead of the mushroom soup. I didn't add any corn. I love the little bit of thyme seasoning - just perfect with turkey. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2012
Best pot pie I ever made!! Served it to company in individual bowls and everyone wanted the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
I used this recipe to make the filling (minus the green beans) and it was a hit! Easy to make and people thought it was store bought!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Herndon, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Dad’s Leftover Turkey Pot Pie

See how to make a simple savory pot pie with veggies and leftover turkey meat.

Turkey and Veggie Alfredo Pot Pie

See how to turn leftovers into a super-simple pot pie.

Turkey Pot Pie I

See how to make homemade pot pie with veggies and savory spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States