Grandma B's Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 6, 2014
I cooked it on the stovetop rather than the crockpot, as I was short on time, and this worked out well. I'd soaked the beans overnight. I added 3 cloves of garlic and a bay leaf along with the onion, celery and carrots. I used 1 qt of chicken broth, and the rest water. I added some of the ham at the beginning, and more to taste at the end, along with plenty of salt and black pepper. I also added a bit of white cooking wine, some chopped parsley, and an all purpose seasoning called Spike. Delicious, as modified.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
This is very similar to my family's recipe, we add a cup of ketchup.... Ads a little more tang!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
As suggested by other reviewers I used 4 cups of chicken broth and 3 cups of water and bay leaves. Omitted the potatoes. Added seasonings--salt, pepper, garlic salt and about a TBSP of brown sugar--at the end so as not to toughen the beans during cooking. The brown sugar gave it that subtle sweet/smoky flavor that I associate with ham and bean soup. I also cooked the beans with a ham bone from a leftover spiral ham and added the cubed ham after about 8 hours on low to retain the ham's flavor. Delicious with warm cornbread! A great basic bean soup starter recipe!--Susan C.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
Pretty good recipe I think I would leave the bay leaf out its to over powering and takes away from some of the other flavors
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
We really enjoyed this soup. I eliminated the potatoes (didn't want the extra starch). I used some turkey gravy in place of some of the plain water and as I had no ham, I included a chopped up Oktoberfest sausage and turkey. I didn't add any of the herbs or spices others referred to. Maybe the gravy gave it the taste it needed. Nevertheless, this is a very forgiving recipe. It cooked in the crock pot for about 8-9hrs. Served with fresh baked rolls. I will certainly be making this again. Thanks to the poster - this was a really nice meal. And very INexpensive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
I made this last night. Actually started it the night before at bedtime. My family ate every bit that was served including the kids. That is a definite plus. However, if I make this again it will be with a few changes. I used a small smoked ham equaling the amount requested which I think next time, I will add more. I also added two chicken bouillon cubes and 2 small bay leaves only because my first thought after reading the ingredients was "where are the spices?" I set it all night and let it cook through the day on low. When I came home, I mashed some of the beans and potatoes to make it more creamy. The result was better but everyone agreed that more ham would have enhanced the flavor. Not sure if I'll make again....maybe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
This was so bland to my fiancé and me! I don't think I'll make it again, but if I do I'd follow the other reviewers' suggestions and use chicken broth instead of water. It just wasn't at all what I was hoping for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2013
This recipe is fantastic! Have made this several times never disappoints....I use chicken broth instead of water and use 1 packet of Goya pork flavor gives that nice smoked ham flavor. Thank you so much for a recipe that is easy and my family loves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NieceyMarie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waretown, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2013
My very finicky 5 year old has repeated all evening, "Mommy! This is my favorite soup in the whole world!" He even wanted more after dessert. So I gotta give it a 5. I didn't have any ham, so used a slab of salt pork and a little bacon fat. However, I know that the ham would've made it much more flavorful. But kids love simple foods and this is a good healthy dinner. We served with a little bell pepper corn bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mommy and the Moonpies

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bentonville, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2013
I love this one. I subbed half of the water with chicken broth as recommended by others and I also added a ham hock. I season mine with parsley flakes, garlic salt, and pepper, all to taste. Maybe a teaspoon of each? I never measure. I add in bay leaves as well (2-3). Fantastic comfort food. Serve with fresh warmed french bread and butter. MMMmmm. Great comfort food dish. I've made it also with pinto beans which is also very tasty, but admittedly, those cause more, um, well issues! lol Enjoy this dish! I have made it many times. My family loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Menifee, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 115) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Navy Bean Soup I

See how to make a hearty bean soup with ham and spices.

The Best Bean and Ham Soup

Beans simmer slowly with a ham bone and plenty of seasonings.

Basic Ham and Bean Soup

See how to make a hearty bean soup with leftover ham.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States