Grandma B's Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2015
This was tasty. I made changes according to other reviews, and used some chicken broth and some water. I also used a large ham hock. I threw the veggies in only 3 hrs before it was done cooking (because of time constraints and, well, kids...), along with a bay leaf, and they were still nicely tender. At the end, I shredded the ham and used an immersion blender to mash some of the beans to add texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2015
I've made this three times and really like my latest version. For the beans, I do a hot soak (boil for 5 minutes), soak first overnight then rinse every 6 hours over the next 24 hours or so. I use two quarts chicken stock, 2 bay leaves, 1 tsp rosemary, 3 tablespoons Knorr chicken bullion, 1 tsp black pepper, 1 tsp salt, and 2 tsp spiracha chili sauce for a little kick. I then cook in the crock pot low for 18 hours. It turns out a wonderful balance of flavors and seems even better after freezing for lunch at work. Admittedly, the elapsed prep time is a little long, but good things await those with patience. For those using a nutrition counter, 1 serving is 2 cups, the whole batch turns out to be about 16 cups the way I make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2015
So delicious I couldn't keep my spoon out of it while it was cooking! Served it with warm, vanilla cornbread and a lime-merengue pie for dessert! Yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2015
Tasted great! I added 2 bay leaves, salt, pepper, and used 4 cups chicken stock and 3 cups of water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2014
I followed the recipe, but definitely did my own thing in addition, Next time I'll use less beans because the next morning, the "soup" turned into a pot of beans thanks to the absorption. I found lamb neck bones and browned those with the miricroix (sp) and used 32oz of chicken stock and water. The bacon fat didn't stand a chance with the aggressive flavor of the lamb, so next time I'll just use the lamb because it was delicious with the beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by msbatterypark
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2014
This dish is great, family loves it! As others suggested, I added chicken stock in place of some water, added bay leaves, and black and red pepper to spice it up. And, used diced ham steak with bone. My 19 year old son adds shredded cheese to his, and says it takes a "great" meal to "fantastic!" Some reviewers have commented about the beans coming out very mushy. Please note, beans have different cooking times, so can't necessarily be substituted without considering this and adjusting cooking time. For example, great northern beans take much less time to cook than navy beans. So, if you only have a few hours to cook this dish, great northern might be the way to go. However, if you are going to cook in crockpot all day and don't want mush, navy beans will work much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
As suggested by others, I added 2 bay leafs, a teaspoon of black pepper, and ham hocks to the recipe. I also substituted 1 can of chicken broth for some of the water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
I followed my directions but my beans were still crunchy-major bummer
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2014
Yummy...my version included chicken broth instead of water when cooking, and added several bay leaves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
this recipe rocks! i didn't change a thing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by meph

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Janesville, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 125) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Navy Bean Soup I

See how to make a hearty bean soup with ham and spices.

Basic Ham and Bean Soup

See how to make a hearty bean soup with leftover ham.

The Best Bean and Ham Soup

Beans simmer slowly with a ham bone and plenty of seasonings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States