Grandma B's Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2004
Fantastic! This was the first time I made ham & bean soup - was a little hesitant at first by the looks of it but it turned out great & my boyfriend loved it too. I used great northern beans,eliminated the carrots & cut up everything the night before (except for potatoes) & put it all in my slow cooker in the morning (except for potatoes)with 7 cups water. I added 2 bay leaves & salt/pepper. At noon I cut up (3) potatoes, boiled for about 5 minutes then added to soup. I kept it on high all day & turned down to low the last couple hours. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2005
This was fantastic! I used Great White beans (they turned out so creamy!) and added 7 cups of water. This was a real family pleaser.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2005
Beautifully simplistic recipe. I will make this again. The only reason I didn't give it 5 stars was that it was a touch too bland for me. Next time, I will try adding something to spice it up just a little bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2005
My husband loves bean soup and this is the first time I was able to make it to his liking. With the leftovers I strained the liquid (saved for future use) and cooked down the beans until thick for burritos adding your favorite ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2005
My family loved this soup! I used small white beans with 7 cups water. I added 2 bay leaves, 1 tsp salt and 1/2 tsp of pepper. I kept it on high for 2 hours and on low for 8 1/2 hours. I will definitely make this again with only one change. I will use 1 tablespoon of salt and 1 tsp of pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2005
I did not soak the beans at all, just rinsed them and then put them in the crock-pot and they turned out soft and creamy. I did take the suggestions from other reviewers and added 2 bay leaves to the pot and I added about a teaspoon of salt but I think it could have used even more.I was afraid of over-salting since I used 2 ham steaks for the ham and those tend to be salty. Next time I try this I think I might try substituting chicken broth for the water for a little extra flavor. Overall a good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
73 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hauppauge, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2005
This was really good comfort food and I served it over cornbread (the store mixes). I followed others advice and added 1 tbsp of pepper and 1 tsp salt and two bay leaves. I actually did this only 1.5 hours before it was ready b/c I tasted it and thought it was bland, and then read the suggestions. It turned out tasty, but alil thick. Next time I will add 7 C of water like some previous suggestions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lyndhurst, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2005
My husband stated this was the best bean soup he had ever eaten. I love the ease of preparation. I did add a ham hock for extra flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fairfield, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2005
Made it for the 2nd time. Used 1 lb of mixed beans again instead of navy beans and this time I steamed a cottage roll and used the ham broth and cubed cottage roll meat Result was fabulous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2005
Wonderful taste and very easy! I added a ham hock and more salt based on the other reviews. I also added sliced carrots instead of shredded. We served over cornbread. This was a big hit in my house. It turned out very creamy. Wonderful dish for a cold night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Port Saint Lucie, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 121) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Navy Bean Soup I

See how to make a hearty bean soup with ham and spices.

Basic Ham and Bean Soup

See how to make a hearty bean soup with leftover ham.

The Best Bean and Ham Soup

Beans simmer slowly with a ham bone and plenty of seasonings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States