Grandma B's Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2007
Used Tofurky sausage instead of ham. It turned out wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2007
This is fantastic! Let it cook, cook, cook and it really does get much better! I use a sweet onion and skip the celery because we don't care for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2007
I cooked this according to the directions with some of the minor revisions suggested by others. Was very disappointed. It came out more like a thick stew. Not as flavorful as I hoped. Sorry, won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2007
Excellent! Did spruce it up a little with some bacon, chicken broth (instead of water), seasoned salt and pepper. It was perfect for a cold, rainy Sunday night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LMSHIRE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: York, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2007
almost like cambells,very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2007
We loved this soup!! The recipe was simple but provided a very tasty meal. Following other reader's suggestions, I did add 2 cans of chicken broth instead of just water for the cooking. I also added more ham. Made for a happy family on a cold night! Thanks for sharing this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jmlionhunter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA
Living In: Del Norte, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2007
This soup is really good. I cooked mine a little longer (about 3 hours) than instructed, added some extra salt & pepper, a couple teaspoons of minced garlic and a couple of bay leaves. It was fabulous. My 8 year-old son loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: La Grande, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Snow likes to cook
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2007
I gave this a 2 star because there was a lot of tweaking that needed to be done. I used home made chicken stock and 1 bay leaf,ham hock, alt n pepper, a heaping tblsp of minced garlic, cooked it for 7 hrs one day and then the next morning I cooked it for an additional 11 hrs. Half way through day two of cooking it still didn't taste all that great. So I cooked up some salt pork in a frying pan till the pieces were crisp and added them along with 1 tb spoon of the drippings. I also added about 1 c of chopped zucchini because I have so much zucchini this year. I pureed about 4 c. of the soup to make it creamy. My 7 year old loved it. Served it with corn bread from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Olean, New York, USA
Living In: Pueblo West, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2007
Growing up my mother always made soup or chili in the crock pot on Halloween and I've carried on the tradition ever since. I made this last year and we all loved it. I was a little leery about shredding the carrots and dicing all the rest of the vegetables. I was always taught to cut large chunks for the crock pot. I follow the directions as written and was glad I did. I will make this again this year for Halloween and can't wait!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leah

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Antioch, California, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2007
I have a family of four and wanted to make a double batch so I could freeze half so I doubled this recipe and put half in the crockpot and half in my heavy pot. It came out MUCH better in the pot. I even ended up transferring the crockpot batch to the pot to get it to a creamy consistency. With half the double batch we were able to eat twice and have some leftovers still. I used 1 quart of chicken stock total, so about 2 cups in each batch. Then I covered with water and added 1 bouillon cube to each batch. I also added one bay leaf to each and 1 tsp. salt & pepper to each. I bought a pack of ham hocks after reading some reviews. It came with 4 in there, I used 2 in each. This was big mistake. It came out WAY to greasy ( and I think the flavor was probably to much also). Next time I am just going to use ham pieces like the author originally intended ;) The only other changes I made was that I used half navy beans and half great northern (that's what I had). I still ended up cooking the soup all day because I have yet to eat a soup that does not taste better being simmered for several hours. I thought the taste was good but I will give another review when I have tried it with ham pieces.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 124) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Navy Bean Soup I

See how to make a hearty bean soup with ham and spices.

Basic Ham and Bean Soup

See how to make a hearty bean soup with leftover ham.

The Best Bean and Ham Soup

Beans simmer slowly with a ham bone and plenty of seasonings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States