Grandma B's Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2007
Loved it!! Also used the chicken broth... best navy bean I've ever eaten..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2007
Oh my goodness is this delicious! This soup really tastes like good ole' fashioned home-cooking! I was looking for a recipe that would be as good as some ham and bean soup that I had at a Sunday church lunch, and this is definitely as good if not better. I've made quite a few recipes off this site and this is my favorite so far for ease and taste. I did make a few recommended modifications: bay leaves, plenty of salt and pepper, chicken broth, and a partially cooked ham steak (my own idea; pan-fried and put pan juices and the little bone in the pot for flavor).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kingwood, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2007
Instead of long soaking of the beans: I rinsed, covered with water and brought to a boil(after soaking, rinse twice). As a other members recommended, I also added bay leaves and also chicken broth in place of the water. I used sliced baby carrots instead of shredded and lots of chopped, fresh flat leaf parsley and salt/freshly cracked pepper to taste. It was so good, I ate almost the entire batch myself in week's time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAMINMI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Palos Hills, Illinois, USA
Living In: Gladstone, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: May 26, 2007
I cut the recipe for this soup down to 4 servings and used great northern beans instead. I also added half a small white onion, used chicken broth instead of water and added a small can of low sodium V8 and 3 pieces turkey bacon and a bay leaf. This is one of the best soups I've ever made...the broth is just brilliant. I'd recommend it to anyone, especially doctored up. For me the original recipe would be way too bland. Try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Glyndon, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2007
Good soup! I followed the recommendations of the other reviewers (broth and bay leaves). Since I cooked it a LONG time, it got very thick so I added about 4 more cups of broth. My husband likes stews so this was great for him.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by link

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dickinson, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Champlin, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2007
I did not care for this, it was easy and a very nice looking dish but I would not fix it again. To be fair I think it was the flavor of my leftover ham that was the taste I did not like. But I like my beans in a thick gravy over rice better than in this soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2007
It was very easy to make and very tasty. The only change I really made was I used one small can of chicken broth and I added a couple boullion cubes. Very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lapeer, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2007
Tastes delicious, feels healthy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2007
Excellent bean soup. Tried it, loved it. I did add a few drops of liquid smoke just for additional flavor. My family thoroughly enjoyed every drop. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2007
Very good bean soup! I used a left-over ham bone and added a can of chicken broth and two extra bay leaves. Next time, I'll use a few extra potatoes as they give the soup an extra-nice touch. Until now, my bean soup has been mediocre at best...thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 114) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Navy Bean Soup I

See how to make a hearty bean soup with ham and spices.

The Best Bean and Ham Soup

Beans simmer slowly with a ham bone and plenty of seasonings.

Basic Ham and Bean Soup

See how to make a hearty bean soup with leftover ham.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States