Grandma B's Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2009
I've done this recipe twice and enjoyed it both times. I also use chicken broth and add three bay leaves. Some red-pepper flakes help also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2009
This is a very basic and bland recipe that results in quite a bit of soup. I added a few things for personal flavor like 6 cloves of garlic, 1 tsp cayenne and 1 tsp chili powder. The final touch was one 12oz bottle of Dundee Honey Lager beer. Much, much better with something for your taste buds to savor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2009
This was a great recipe to use for the bag of Bean Soup Mix I had. I am trying to incorporate more beans in our diets to cut back on the red meat in our diets and this was a pleasant change. I pretty much followed the recipe as written but incorporated a few more things that I had on hand.... Instead of diced tomatoes as others had suggested I put in the remaining part of tomatoe sauce that I had in jar in refrigerator. I also added some Sazon, Sofrito, Ham seasoning, I used chicken broth also.. and about 1- 2 cups chopped turkey ham and of course the potatoes. I served with my homemade cornbread and viola dinner! It was a great hit my husband loved it. However I did not cook in crock pot I cooked in a big soup pot all day..... I made Sat and today is MOnday and there isn't even enough left to freeze!!! This is a great recipe for me as I love Soups!! Thanx for Sharing Grandma B!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2009
This was a hit. Cheap, easy and makes alot. My crock pot was filled to the top. Should be served with warm crusty bread for dunking! I will definitely add this to my soup rotation this winter. I used ham shanks instead of chopped ham. They cost around $1 and add more flavor to the soup. Plus you do get a little bit of meat to shred into the soup. I don't want potatoes in my bean soup so I omitted them but added a clove of minced garlic and some worcestershire sauce (saw that in another recipe). It did need a little salt which I added at the end of the cooking time after tasting the soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dover, Ohio, USA
Living In: Twinsburg, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2009
I wish I had a bigger crock pot--it was filled to the brim. I used a large can of chicken broth instead of water. Very good. I'll use any leftovers to make baked beans. Thanks for the great recipe and suggestions!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lansing, Michigan, USA
Living In: Charlotte, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2009
This was the best bean soup that I have had in a long time! I did alter it a bit, I didn't use carrots or celery because my kids won't eat it if they see carrots. I used another's suggestion of the 2 cans of chicken broth and instead of onions, I used 2 TBSP. of minced onions. It still gave the flavor, without the chunks of onion... kids won't eat it if there are onions! They LOVED it!!! I had so much that I took some to my neighbor and they said it was the best bean soup that they have had in a long time. Thanks for the recipe! I will be making this again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by valh

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2009
I have been making this for a while now and with the modifications others have suggested, it makes it awesome. Chicken broth or stock makes it super flavorful along with bay leaf. I even like it with some minced garlic and basil every once in a while-and it does get better the longer it cooks, so start this one out late at night or early in the morning. Thanks GB!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by micsulli

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2009
Good but less than expected on taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2009
not soupy. very thick and made way too much. Not the best bang for my buck.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2009
Easy and delicious. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 121) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Navy Bean Soup I

See how to make a hearty bean soup with ham and spices.

Basic Ham and Bean Soup

See how to make a hearty bean soup with leftover ham.

The Best Bean and Ham Soup

Beans simmer slowly with a ham bone and plenty of seasonings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States