Grandma B's Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2010
Very good. I did use chicken broth, garlic, 2 bay leaves and 1/2 tsp italian seasoning to add flavor. I simmered it all day in the crock pot on low then finished it up on the stove to thicken it up a little.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2010
Absolutely delicious!! I did as others and used chicken broth, salt and pepper, and 2 bay leaves. It tastes even better the second day. So easy too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leslie Kaiser

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
This is fantastic! I used chicken broth instead of water. I can't believe this doesn't have more ratings! Even better the next day
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
I add chicken bouillon to make it more flavorful, 3 cubes for the whole recipe. But this is a great recipe! Just like my grandmother in-laws, but I gave it four stars because it's just so much soup. It filled my 6 quart slow cooker! And after about 8 hours of cooking it started to get mushy. So my suggestion would be to spit the recipe in half and personally I don't want my beans and potatoes to be mush so 6-8 hours in the slow cooker is plenty long enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2009
This recipe was fantastic. I had to add chicken broth, garlic and oregano to punch up the flavor, but it turned out great. It made a ton and the entire house smelled yummy when we got home. Put this with some crusty bread and it's an entire meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TAMARASUE2002

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hemlock, Michigan, USA
Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2009
I've done this recipe twice and enjoyed it both times. I also use chicken broth and add three bay leaves. Some red-pepper flakes help also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2009
This is a very basic and bland recipe that results in quite a bit of soup. I added a few things for personal flavor like 6 cloves of garlic, 1 tsp cayenne and 1 tsp chili powder. The final touch was one 12oz bottle of Dundee Honey Lager beer. Much, much better with something for your taste buds to savor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2009
This was a great recipe to use for the bag of Bean Soup Mix I had. I am trying to incorporate more beans in our diets to cut back on the red meat in our diets and this was a pleasant change. I pretty much followed the recipe as written but incorporated a few more things that I had on hand.... Instead of diced tomatoes as others had suggested I put in the remaining part of tomatoe sauce that I had in jar in refrigerator. I also added some Sazon, Sofrito, Ham seasoning, I used chicken broth also.. and about 1- 2 cups chopped turkey ham and of course the potatoes. I served with my homemade cornbread and viola dinner! It was a great hit my husband loved it. However I did not cook in crock pot I cooked in a big soup pot all day..... I made Sat and today is MOnday and there isn't even enough left to freeze!!! This is a great recipe for me as I love Soups!! Thanx for Sharing Grandma B!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2009
This was a hit. Cheap, easy and makes alot. My crock pot was filled to the top. Should be served with warm crusty bread for dunking! I will definitely add this to my soup rotation this winter. I used ham shanks instead of chopped ham. They cost around $1 and add more flavor to the soup. Plus you do get a little bit of meat to shred into the soup. I don't want potatoes in my bean soup so I omitted them but added a clove of minced garlic and some worcestershire sauce (saw that in another recipe). It did need a little salt which I added at the end of the cooking time after tasting the soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dover, Ohio, USA
Living In: Twinsburg, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2009
I wish I had a bigger crock pot--it was filled to the brim. I used a large can of chicken broth instead of water. Very good. I'll use any leftovers to make baked beans. Thanks for the great recipe and suggestions!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lansing, Michigan, USA
Living In: Charlotte, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 116) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Navy Bean Soup I

See how to make a hearty bean soup with ham and spices.

The Best Bean and Ham Soup

Beans simmer slowly with a ham bone and plenty of seasonings.

Basic Ham and Bean Soup

See how to make a hearty bean soup with leftover ham.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States