Grandma B's Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2010
I found this soup to be very bland, I added chicken boullion and then later added a ham hock to let it cook another several hours to add flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wyoung

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2010
Overall I was very pleased with this recipe, although the first time I made it I took some users advice to add chicken broth instead of water, and I found mine entirely too salty, even with the broth watered down! I'd recommend to wait and see if it needs any additional seasoning first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2010
this was delicious! I can't wait to make it again. I did take some recommendations from other users and added salt, pepper, bay leaves and chicken stock. I didn't have ham and used a smoked sausage instead with great success. So comforting and satisfying!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
Cooked for 12 hours (but not necessary). Came out like stew: thick and hearty. Used cooked/shredded smoked turkey and chopped turkey bacon instead of pork. Added about half chicken broth/water. Added fresh minced garlic. Seasoned w/ salt, pepper, cumin, cinnamon, ginger powder to taste. Be careful with cinnamon and ginger. Want smooth and savory, not bitter or spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2010
I love this bean soup! I add a bit more spice and that is it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2010
This is an excellent recipe. The only change I made was to add a ham shank instead of the cooked ham. It added a smokey flavor that was out of this world. I made the recipe a couple of days ago, and I'm still amazed...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
Easy and pretty good soup. Very filling, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Chesterfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2010
With the changes that other reviewers suggested, this would be a 5+. I halved the recipe using 3.5 cups chicken broth, 1/2 teaspoon smoke flavoring, 2 bay leaves, a little salt & pepper, and two cloves of smashed garlic. I also subbed three green onions for what would have been the half of a regular onion for my half recipe, and it turned out beautifully. Thank you for a great starter recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2010
Very good. I did use chicken broth, garlic, 2 bay leaves and 1/2 tsp italian seasoning to add flavor. I simmered it all day in the crock pot on low then finished it up on the stove to thicken it up a little.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2010
Absolutely delicious!! I did as others and used chicken broth, salt and pepper, and 2 bay leaves. It tastes even better the second day. So easy too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leslie Kaiser

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 124) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Navy Bean Soup I

See how to make a hearty bean soup with ham and spices.

Basic Ham and Bean Soup

See how to make a hearty bean soup with leftover ham.

The Best Bean and Ham Soup

Beans simmer slowly with a ham bone and plenty of seasonings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States