Grandma B's Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2012
Not bad. I did jazz it up by adding bullion cubes (4--I added a lot more water!), bay leaves, dried minced garlic, and pepper--partly bc I had turkey instead of ham. I didn't have potatoes but it was fine without, and I cooked it for a long time as others had suggested (18-20 hours). The only thing in the soup a little worse for wear was the turkey, so I'd suggest adding that later if you use turkey; the ham would probably be just fine. This was a very nice weeknight meal for when I didn't want to cook--told bf my dinner plan was soup and salad. He made the salad, I made this soup, and voila! Dinner. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2011
I love you, Renee and your Grandma B! This recipe is an awesome base for my tweaking and I will be making this again in the not-too-distant future. For those out there who found the soup too greasy, salty or bland, here are some tips to help you along the way. 1)Don't use a ham hock, which tends to be too salty. Use a bone-in ham steak. 2)Sautee your ham to draw out those yummy juices and sugars. 3)Sautee your mirepoix in E.V.O.O., seasoning salt and Mrs. Dash. 4)Use 4C broth, 4C water and add a wee bit more salt and Mrs. Dash 5)Ham bone and 2 bay leaves in soup. VERY integral. I hope these tips are useful. Drop me a line if they are...bon appetit!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VAWineaux

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hampton, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2011
Solid recipe. I knew plain water would disappoint but instead of using cans of broth like other reviewers, I just threw in some chicken bouillon powder. This is a good recipe. I had never used navy beans before. After hours of cooking, I used an immersion blender to blend a lot of it which makes it creamier. But I did this before adding the ham. I had an extra red pepper lying around so I chopped it and threw it in. I think it made a nice color and flavor contrast. Really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
My husband and I love this soup. We had so much leftovers that we froze it and ate it a month later and it still tasted wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2011
Very good soup. Used others suggestions to add flavor. Cooked on low for 18 hrs. Pureed 2 cups of the mixture and added back in to thicken it up. Very easy recipe. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
Mike and Colby really liked this we ate it in one sitting! I did make it in the crock pot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
Excellent and easy! I quick cooked the beans and threw everything in the crock pot. I also used homemade chicken stock instead of water and it only needed a little salt at the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandra Sinclair

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oak Harbor, Washington, USA
Living In: Bremerton, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
Not very good. Too much going on for bean soup for us. Everything sounded great, but didn't come together very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LISA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alexandria, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
I followed the suggestion to add 2 bay leaves and 1/2 Tablespoon of salt and 1 teaspoon of pepper. I also didn't soak the beans over night. I did just for an hour and then rinsed and added the ingredients. I also used 4 cups of ham broth from when I cooked the ham. Ooooooh so delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
I used chicken broth instead of water like some of the others recommended. Hubby said it was good, it was a little different than we were use to. I would make again, but leaving the potatoes out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brandy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: West Terre Haute, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 116) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Navy Bean Soup I

See how to make a hearty bean soup with ham and spices.

Basic Ham and Bean Soup

See how to make a hearty bean soup with leftover ham.

The Best Bean and Ham Soup

Beans simmer slowly with a ham bone and plenty of seasonings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States